BBAW: First Treasure


Today marks the official beginning of Book Blogger Appreciation Week. The theme this year is A Treasure Chest of Infinite Books and Infinite Blogs. One of the things about the blogging world that stands out to me is the wide range of blogs and books out there, so this theme expresses one of my absolute favorite things about book blogging. To celebrate that infinite treasure, the BBAW team has come up with a list of topics for the week, and today’s suggestion is to share a great new blog that we’ve discovered since the last BBAW.

Well, of course, given the infinite array of choices, Jenny and I couldn’t settle for just one! So we’ve put our heads together and come up with eight blogs, and we’ll each tell you about four of them.

Teresa’s Picks

  • Book Snob. Rachel’s blog is on hiatus at the moment while she’s moving from England to the U.S., but that simply means you have time to browse through her archives until her return. Rachel writes wonderfully detailed, impassioned reviews of a variety of books, both classics and non—but mostly classics. I especially love how she connects her reading to her own thoughts and feelings about life.
  • The Literary Omnivore. When Clare says she’s an omnivore, she’s not kidding! On her blog, you can find reviews of a wide variety of speculative fiction, famous classics, popular and not-so-popular fiction and nonfiction, and even The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck. Her reviews manage to be both concise and thorough—which is a pretty neat trick!
  • My Porch. Of course, I have to give a shout-out to a fellow DC-area Anglophile book blogger! Thomas seems to have a knack for choosing books to review by authors I keep meaning to try but haven’t gotten around to yet, and of course, his reviews make me more determined to get to them. When he’s not posting excellent reviews, he’s sharing beautiful photos and art. (And he’s great fun to go book shopping with.)
  • Paperback Reader. I may have discovered Claire’s blog before BBAW last year, but it was during BBAW that I really started following her closely. I love Claire’s blog for the wide range of books she covers, from the latest hot releases to classics that are often ever so slightly off the beaten path. Plus, we have Claire to thank for great events like Persephone Reading Week (which she co-hosts with Verity) and Angela Carter Month. (And I can attest that she makes an excellent book shopping and theatre-going companion.)

Jenny’s Picks

  • Wuthering Expectations. I love this blog because it has so little in common with what I read. It’s my fantasy blog: one day, when I’ve read all the basics in the canon, all the things that everyone should read, then I’ll start reading the things Amateur Reader reads: Scottish literature, Jules Lafargue, Yiddish literature, Isidore Ducasse — and that’s just recently. Someday. Someday.
  • Jenny’s Books. Jenny’s tone and style grab me, make me laugh, intrigue me, make me want to try the things she tries. Even when she’s reading something nominally light, she finds the politics, the gender angles, and the mystery in it. It’s no wonder she reads the end before she reads the middle (though she is, uncharacteristically, in the midst of No-Spoilers September.) I’ve taken a lot of good advice from this lovely blog.
  • Evening All Afternoon. I started reading Emily’s blog when I ran across her review of Thoreau’s “Walking”. She said what I think about Thoreau so much better than I could have said it that I absolutely developed a crush on the entire blog, and have been reading it daily ever since. Emily is thorough, thoughtful, reads a real variety of things, and is unafraid to take a less-travelled path if she finds it more interesting. Everything that makes a blog good is to be found here.
  • The Rejectionist. Okay, so this is not just a book blog, though she does post book reviews. I’m cheating a little. But if you don’t know the Rejectionist, a New York assistant to a book editor, and her revolutionary, literature-loving, Twilight-hating ways, then your life could be a little richer. She talks about the book industry, particularly those marginalized from it, and she’s about as sharply funny as they come.
This entry was posted in BBAW. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to BBAW: First Treasure

  1. Iris says:

    Great choices, and I agree with all of those that I have heard of before. I’m not off to check out The Rejectionist and Wuthering Expectations.

  2. The only one I haven’t heard of is The Rejectionist *heads off to check it out*

  3. Tony says:

    I’m a big fan of Paperback Reader and Wuthering Expectations (how you can blog for a whole week on one book I don’t know!) too :) It’s good to find blogs that deal with more serious books onece in a while.

  4. Oh, this week is going to break my RSS Feed, isn’t it?

    Teresa, you’re such a doll for including my blog- I was so torn up that I couldn’t just include everyone on my blog roll, since I love them and their blogs just as much as the blog I ended up featuring. Thank you! (And The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck is awesome and I’m happy it’s emblematic of my omnivorous nature. Your library probably has it in the kiddies’ section, if you are so inclined.)

  5. Charlie says:

    I love the sound of Wuthering Expectations, and even more so for Tony saying a whole week on one book, I think I’d check it out just for that! I’ve heard of a few from the list but the rest will require a browse.

    • Teresa says:

      It’s not just one week on one book, it’s one week on one rather obscure book by some author you’ve always meant to read but were afraid of!

      Hope you enjoy!

  6. chasing bawa says:

    Wonderful choices. It’s so hard to choose just one, isn’t it? And I can attest to Claire of Paperback Reader being a wonderful event companion! I’ve heard of a half of the blogs you mention and will of course be checking out the rest!

  7. Amanda says:

    So many great picks on here! I love Jenny’s Books and Paperback Reader so much! I’m off to look at some of the others.

  8. Jenny says:

    So I read all of Teresa’s picks, and none of Jenny’s (er, except, obviously, I am one of them (thank you! you are so nice!)). I am adding those to Google Reader. I love Book Blogger Appreciation Week for discovering new blogs!

  9. You’ve listed quite a few bloggers I haven’t heard of, so I’m off to explore and add yet more to my Google reader :)

  10. Oh! A few of these are new to me! *Gasp* Another DC area blogger I didn’t know yet! Thanks for spotlighting these great blogs!

  11. I am happy that I already follow 6 of the 8 blogs listed but I guess the flipside is that I only have two new ones to explore. Thanks for including me Teresa. I’ve been a little negligent in my blogging this weekend so I forgot all about BBAW starting this week.

  12. Caitie F says:

    That was not very nice instead of just having me add one or two new blogs to my reader…I had to add FOUR thanks to you! :-D

  13. I recently discovered Thomas’s blog and like reading him!

    Here is my BBAW: First Treasure post!

  14. Beth says:

    Great suggestions! I look forward to checking them out.

  15. Beth F says:

    a few new to me blogs — I think my treasure chest is going to overflow.

  16. Emily says:

    Aw, thanks for the shout-out, Jenny! Who knew that trashing Thoreau was a good way to win friends & influence people? ;-) Have a great BBAW, y’all.

  17. Rebecca Reid says:

    Great blogs, off to check out the ones I hadn’t heard of!

  18. Oh, how lovely to be featured – thank you, Teresa :)

    I have been rather busy the last few weeks with minimal time to blog but your post and comments have reminded me how much I need to make time for it.

    /off to check out the couple of new-to-me blogs.

    • Teresa says:

      I always love seeing new posts from you, but I’m also a firm believer in not driving yourself crazy making time to blog. So no pressure from this corner!

  19. amymckie says:

    Wow, what a great list. A lot of new to me blogs in there to add to my reader! Thanks!

  20. Kathleen says:

    Oh my goodness how I love this week and all of the new blogs I will discover. Thank you both for sharing your favorites, a few of which I am already familiar with. I’m off to check out the other links.

  21. A lot of these blogs are new to me, so I am off to check them out!

  22. What nice company to find myself in. Thanks a lot. Back at you!

    The secret to writing all week about a single book is: Take whatever you write, split it in five parts, and post the pieces separately.

    • Teresa says:

      LOL. Of course, the trick to that method is having enough interesting things to say that you end up with five posts of substance, which you always seem to do. I could maybe manage two and a half semi-substantive posts :)

  23. Michelle says:

    I have to admit that most of these are blogs with whom I am unfamiliar. I will be remedying this immediately. Thanks for sharing!

  24. Frances says:

    Couldn’t agree more about all the choices especially Thomas and Emily of course. And I just saw that you guys won for Best Literary Fiction! Congrats on the well deserved honor!

  25. bookssnob says:

    I just saw this! Thank you so much, Teresa! I am truly touched and honoured. :) And how wonderful about your award – congratulations to both you and Jenny!

    Time to be online is limited for me right now as work is crazy and I have no home currently but hopefully I will come out of enforced hiatus soon!

    • Teresa says:

      You’re welcome Rachel! Your blog is definitely a favorite!

      I was glad to see your blog update earlier this week, and I hope you can get settled in a new place soon.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.