Author Archives: Teresa

The Many

Ethan is a fisherman in a small coastal village, grieving the death of Perran, a young man who helped him in his work. Timothy is a Londoner who has just bought Perran’s abandoned house, planning to fix it up and … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction | 6 Comments

The North Water

Finally! Finally! A book on this year’s Booker longlist that I’m excited about. I liked Work Like Any Other just fine, but none of the others I’ve read did much for me. I’m hoping this is a turnaround point. I have a weakness … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Historical Fiction | 11 Comments

The Sellout

Satire is hard. It’s hard to write and hard to read. And I’ll admit straight off that I’m not good at reading it. If the point of the jokes are too obvious, I get annoyed. If it’s too subtle, I miss it. … Continue reading

Posted in Contemporary, Fiction | 15 Comments

Eileen

I first attempted to read this novel by Ottessa Moshfegh several months ago and gave up in boredom after about 60 pages. I had been led to expect a thriller, something in the vein of Patricia Highsmith or Ruth Rendell. … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction | 16 Comments

Hystopia

Set in an alternate version of the 1960s, this novel by David Means follows a trio of Vietnam veterans who’ve undergone a procedure called enfolding that eliminates their memories of past trauma. It’s not a fool-proof procedure, however. Drugs, a cold bath, … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Speculative Fiction | 14 Comments

Work Like Any Other (and the WoMan Booker Shadow Panel)

The (Wo)Man Booker Shadow Panel, made up of me, Meredith, Nicole, Rebecca, and Frances, is back again for another round with the Man Booker longlist. I have to confess that when I saw this year’s longlist, I might have let … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Historical Fiction | 12 Comments

The Forest Unseen: A Year’s Watch in Nature

I am not, in general, a big fan of nature writing. It’s not that I haven’t read and enjoyed any nature writing. I loved, for example, David Quammen’s Song of the Dodo and Monster of God. It’s just that nature writing doesn’t always … Continue reading

Posted in Nonfiction | 9 Comments

Bipolar Faith: A Black Woman’s Journey with Depression and Faith

Monica A. Coleman’s memoir touches on a lot of significant themes: faith, grief, trauma, rape, depression, prayer, race, family, friendship, and history among them. She begins with the story of her great-grandfather who died, it was said, “of grief,” hanging … Continue reading

Posted in Memoir, Nonfiction, Religion | 8 Comments

A Kind of Intimacy

Well, that was disturbing. And amazing. I loved it. Jenn Ashworth’s debut novel from 2009 is the story of Annie. As the book opens, narrator Annie is just moving into a new home, alone with her cat and eager for … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction | 12 Comments

The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer

In July 1865, a 13-year-old London boy named Robert Coombs murdered his mother Emily. After the murder, he and his 12-year-old brother Nattie attended cricket matches, played games, and went fishing, all the while claiming their mother was away visiting family. When … Continue reading

Posted in History, Nonfiction | 18 Comments