Lord of the Rings Readalong

As I mentioned on Sunday, several bloggers and I have been wanting to reread J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. Eva, Maree, the Literary Omnivore, and I decided to share the experience and wanted to invite along anyone else who wants to join.

Starting January 1, 2010, we’ll be reading one book from the series (including The Hobbit) each month with a goal of finishing all four books in April. We’ll be taking turns hosting the readalong, so you can follow our intrepid fellowship of readers around the blogosphere. Here’s where you’ll find us each month:

Whether you’ve made repeated visits to Middle Earth, have only seen the movies, or are a complete newbie to Tolkien’s amazing world, we hope you’ll consider joining us. If you’re in, sign up using the Mr. Linky below:

As Bilbo said at the end of The Hobbit

Roads go ever ever on,

     Over rock and under tree,

By caves where never sun has shone,

     By streams that never find the sea.

The road through Middle Earth is one I’ve traversed many times in the last 14 years since I first read The Hobbit. Its trees, caves, and streams are familiar sights to me now, but they haven’t failed to bring me pleasure over the years. I’m thrilled to be able to share that pleasure with so many others this January. Grab your pack and your sword, and please do consider joining us!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Lord of the Rings Readalong

  1. Maree says:

    Yay, we’re a go!!!!!!! :D :D :D

  2. All systems go! I’m very excited.

  3. Eva says:

    Can’t wait until January! Hobbits! Ents! Faramir! Eowyn!

  4. Tabitha says:

    Love the sound of this – if I can I will! :-) Tabitha.

  5. Alleluialu says:

    I, too, have been wanting to reread the books in this group that I have already read and to finish the ones I haven’t finished. What a great idea! Thank you so much!

  6. Heather says:

    I’ve actually never read these books *gasp*. I know, right? I did read The Hobbit in 6th grade, and I did enjoy it but was never motivated to read the rest. This will be the perfect opportunity for me to do so! Thanks ladies!

  7. Anastasia says:

    I’ve only read The Hobbit before, and while I liked it I couldn’t finish the rest of the series because I…was…bored. (omg) But that was, what? 8 years ago? Maybe I’ll have a better time of it now!

    I’m totally signing up.

  8. Pingback: Challenges and Read-a-Longs, Oh My! « A Striped Armchair

  9. Raych says:

    And raych makes nine. Fellowship complete. Shot-gun not being Boromir, though. If Eva is Merry I’ll take Pippin.

  10. Teresa says:

    I’m so excited to see folk signing up–especially first-time readers. Hooray!

    If we’re calling Fellowship members, I couldn’t choose! Not Boromir, or Legolas (the last movie ruined Legolas for me). Gimli? Although if I’m having a existential crisis, maybe Frodo is appropriate…

    Oh, and if we get nine more, we’ll have nine riders!

  11. Kathleen says:

    I have sworn off challenges or I would be signing up for this one. I will watch from the sidelines and maybe even read along for one or two of these. My son and I have read and enjoyed Tolkien so much and we LOVED the movies!

  12. Pingback: Another Set Of Challenges « Shona's Book Shelves

  13. Pingback: Sunday Salon: Reading, Read, To Read #47 | Books On About Blog Book Novel Magazine Comic Comics Literature Story Reviews Questions Answers and More

  14. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Readalong « reading comes from writing

  15. rebeccareid says:

    If I can get through the first one in February, then I’ll read the second in March.

    Not sure I’m going to like it though….

  16. Maree says:

    I’ll take Legolas! I had such a crush on him when I was a teenager :D

  17. J.G. says:

    Scouting for new challenges in 2010 and found this one. It sounds like great fun. I’ll be reading along for probably the 15th time, but I always find something new.

    Guess this makes me one of the Nine Riders, huh?

  18. gbaugh says:

    I’ll give it a go. I haven’t read those books in years. Its about time I reread them.
    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com/

  19. Melissa says:

    Sweet! I’m in! I haven’t read the series at all! I know I know I’m a bad girl!

  20. Pingback: The Sunday Salon: The First Book « The Literary Omnivore

  21. Alice Teh says:

    HI Teresa! I’m participating in this. Thanks for doing this and I look forward to this challenge next year. :D

    http://www.aliceteh.com/2009/12/lord-of-rings-readalong.html

    P/S: I can’t get Mr Linky to work so I’m posting my participation here. :D

  22. Very cool. I have not read the series all the way through yet I truly want to. I look forward to this read-along.

  23. Kristen M. says:

    I’m going to be reading with you guys. I don’t have a dedicated post for it but it will show up in my various challenge posts!

  24. I’m in too! Can’t wait to visit the Shire once again.

  25. Pingback: 2010 Challenges!!! « Just Book Reading Blog

  26. emmegail says:

    I’m looking forward to reading these books. They’ve been on my list for awhile, so this is perfect! Thanks for hosting! :)

  27. I am so excited to start reading. I know I am going to appreciate the books more with the readalong than I would have it I read them on my own. It is about time I read the series.

  28. jess says:

    I used to reread these books every year as a child. I am so excited to read them again with others.

  29. Pingback: Stainless Steel Droppings » Blog Archive » Its a New Year!

  30. Pingback: The New Year’s Day Post: 2010 Challenges « The Misadventures of Moppet

  31. Pingback: The Sunday Salon: Reading Resolutions « The Literary Omnivore

  32. Pingback: Let the Lord of the Rings Read-a-Long Begin! « A Striped Armchair

  33. Aths says:

    Just found out about this read-along!! I am eager to join in as well, and have signed up. Yay for the LOTR series!!

  34. Pingback: The Lord of the Rings Read-Along Begins! – Thoughts on The Hobbit « Just Book Reading

  35. Pingback: The Hobbit « Care's Online Book Club

  36. Sara says:

    It’s been a couple years since I read the Hobbit and the LOTR…This is a great incentive to read them over again.

  37. ag says:

    I’ve read and stopped LOTR couple of times, and since I’ve committed this book (the omnibus) for Orannia’s BIG book challenge, this read-a-along seems like just the best companion to motivate me to finish it.

    I’ll be back for sure, for inspiration. Great idea, count me in!

  38. Pingback: Catching Up with Bilbo « A Striped Armchair

  39. I’m late to the readalong, but I’m just starting The Hobbit this morning. I’m sure I’ll be caught up in no time, though :-) I’ve been wanting to re-read the LOTR books for a while, and it’s fun to be doing it with such wonderful people :-D

  40. Pingback: Crashing the Unexpected Party « In the Shadow of Mt. TBR

  41. Meri says:

    I’m so late finding this challenge/read-along, but I’m in! I love Tolkien. :D

  42. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Read-Along – Re-Visiting the Adventure « Just Book Reading

  43. Debye says:

    I’m in! This sounds like great fun! I will have to do a quick reread of The Hobbit, but I’m sure I can do it.

    Thanks for the challenge!

  44. Pingback: LOTR Readalong – The Hobbit « In the Shadow of Mt. TBR

  45. Pingback: Challenge: The Lord of the Rings Readalong, Part #1 « The Literary Omnivore

  46. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Winter Reading « Just Book Reading

  47. Pingback: Fellowshippin’ with the LOTR Readalong Bunch « In the Shadow of Mt. TBR

  48. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Read-Along – The Fellowship of the Ring « Just Book Reading

  49. Kaye says:

    I’m late–but I’ve decided to join with the group as well. I think it will be such a treat to read everybody’s thoughts about the book.

  50. Drat…I missed this totally. I would have loved to do this. Have fun!

  51. EL Fay says:

    Thanks for the invite! I’ve got several other reading commitments for March, but I’ll try to get The Two Towers in!

  52. Pingback: The LOTR Readalong « Gaskella

  53. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Read-a-Long Complete « reading comes from writing

  54. Pingback: LotR Readalong Update (1) – The Hobbit

  55. Pingback: Lord of the Rings Readalong

  56. Pingback: TSS – 2010 Resolutions

  57. Pingback: The LOTR Readalong – Annabookbel

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.