The White Album

One of the best books I read last year was Joan Didion’s essay collection, Slouching Towards Bethlehem. I appreciated Didion’s keen observations and her blending of personal observation with commentary on the culture. It felt significant and hardly at all dated. I was excited to read more of her essays, hoping to gain insight into our recent past and enjoy some good writing. I’m afraid that The White Album was a disappointment.

Didion’s writing is as good as in the earlier collection. She’s great at picking up on telling details and painting a clear picture of a scene. But these essays felt slight, rarely delving into the personalities and places to present an in-depth portrait, as in her profiles of Joan Baez and John Wayne in Slouching. Instead, she flits from point to point, dealing glancing blows on her subjects.

The title essay is a good example of the technique. It’s meant, I think, to evoke the fractured mood of the 60s and 70s. She presents different vignettes—a criminal trial, a Doors recording session, Huey P. Newton, a packing list, the Manson murders, a broken ribs. Some of these are several pages long, but many are only a page or two. Sections, like the one on Newton, seem to be on the cusp of something interesting, but she never gets there. That’s how this whole collection felt.

There were some gems and some essays that were almost gems. I liked “In Bed,” about her experience with migraine. A lot of what she describes would be familiar to anyone who has suffered chronic pain and struggled to get people to understand just what it’s like. “Many Mansions,” about the California governor’s mansion, was entertaining. I wanted more of “Good Citizens,” another series of vignettes, this one about Hollywood political activists, Nancy Reagan, and the local Jaycees. The essay on “The Women’s Movement” was provocative, and although I didn’t necessarily agree with it, I was glad to get to something with a strong point of view.

Many of the essays focus on California life or on Didion’s travels. A few glance at quirky areas of interest—the Hoover dam or shopping malls. In a lot of cases, I think being 40 years distant from the subject matter was a problem. If there were some profundities between the lines, I was too far away to see them.

This entry was posted in Nonfiction, Short Stories/Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The White Album

  1. I haven’t had a chance to read “Slouching Towards Bethlehem” as a whole yet, and so can’t respond to the info about that book. But I felt “The White Album” was centered around Didion herself and her likes and dislikes, with an emphasis on the essay on migraine. To me, it was as if she was a star student who suddenly had a new English teacher, who said to her, “Yes, but I’d like to see more of YOU in these essays, Joan.” From that point of view, I was satisfied with it.

  2. Thanks for this. Didion is probably my favorite writer.

  3. Jenny says:

    I’ve read that essay on migraine (of course.) I thought it was great, but I wished it were longer. I recommended it to my neurologist to give to people he sees, along with Oliver Sacks’s book on migraine. He said he usually just gives out scientific books, but would think about it. :)

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

