The Fireman

firemanIn January, Teresa published a review of Joe Hill’s latest book, The Fireman. I had already been planning to read it, since I’ve read and enjoyed most of what he’s written, but her review made me really excited about it. And (of course) she was right. I just read this 750-page novel in less than three days, and if I hadn’t had a life to live, I’d have read it even faster. This book is fast-paced, dark, violent, and incredibly compelling.

I won’t go into detail about the plot, partly because Teresa already gave a good sense of it and partly because there are a lot of twists and turns that are more fun if unanticipated. But the general premise is this: people have become infected with a disease called Dragonscale, which makes them burst into flame and burn alive. Harper Grayson is a nurse, and she’s working with infected patients when she finds she, too, is sick. Originally, she had promised her husband Jakob that if they got infected, they would drink some wine and commit suicide together. But just before Harper found the first traces of Dragonscale on her skin, she found out she was pregnant. Now she has something to live for — the hope of delivering a healthy baby — and she must negotiate a world that’s burning all around her.

There were so many good things about this book. The early scenes, when Jakob is freaking out from fear and stress, and he won’t listen to Harper’s desire to live, are deeply frightening. There’s something about someone you love and care about becoming a terrible danger that’s horrifying, and Hill builds the case for Jakob’s unpleasant and self-serving madness with care. Later, when Harper finds a kind of compound of the sick on the cusp of becoming a cult, Hill builds the same kind of case, as it becomes clear that group behavior can be harmony or a mob. Those who remain calm, trustworthy, and capable of altruism — in an apocalyptic situation are few and far between. I was totally gripped by the emerging crisis, watching the way small events could push people one direction or another, toward their community principles or far away from them. I am fond of saying that the human capacity for self-delusion is bottomless, and that’s in evidence here. It was also very satisfying to see the tough, smart women in this book. Everyone has strengths and weaknesses, but Hill doesn’t generalize about who can be strong and who has to follow. During the course of the novel, he goes into some detail about the mechanism of Dragonscale, and while it was both clever and relevant, that wasn’t as interesting to me. It was his people I wanted more of, and in 750 pages I got plenty.

Another fun thing was catching references in this book, both to Hill’s own work and to his father’s (Stephen King.) There are several references here to The Stand, and others to Mid-World from the gunslinger series. I found this absolutely delightful, especially since it wasn’t overdone, and I wonder if I even caught all of them. And then, of course, there are the references to Ray Bradbury, Dire Straits, and dozens of other cultural references. It’s a lot of fun to read.

If horror interests you — horror that is mostly suspense — I absolutely recommend this book, along with Hill’s other work. The only book of his I haven’t read is Horns, because the premise doesn’t appeal to me, but now I’m wondering if I should read that one, too.

This entry was posted in Contemporary, Fiction, Speculative Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Fireman

  1. Horns is the only Joe Hill book I have read (besides the first 100 pages or so of The Fireman). It’s excellent! It’s a dark murder mystery with just a hint of the fantastic. I loved it, and all the rest of his work went right on my reading list!

    • Jenny says:

      Thanks for the recommendation! That helps. I don’t know why I was put off by the description of the book, but I’ll try it!

  2. Teresa says:

    He keeps getting better and better, I think. I still need to read Horns and 20th-Century Ghosts. And he has a new collection coming later this year.

    What did you think of the ending of this? I found it tremendously moving. It’s the kind of thing that I’d think I’d find ridiculous if someone described it to me, but I completely bought it here.

    • Jenny says:

      20th Century Ghosts is *scary*. There are several stories in there that are less intense, but also several that really grabbed me. I thought they were totally original, too.

      I thought the ending of The Fireman was wonderful. A great combination of sadness and hope. And I loved the little coda in the acknowledgments!

  3. I think I’m going to have to try Hill. So much enthusiasm for this book out there! I don’t think I’ll get to it this year (I’m reading The Dark Tower series right now and I’ve got a couple of door-stopper sized books planned for later this year too) but maybe next year!

  4. Anne Simonot says:

    I own a copy of this one. I need to make time to read it this summer! It totally sounds like my kind of book!

    • Jenny says:

      I think it makes wonderful summer reading, but just anticipate it’s a very fast read because it’s so engaging!

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

