White Noise

white-noiseSomething is wrong in a small college town in Middle America. There’s an unexpected sense of malaise, and the teachers and students at the local school are falling mysteriously ill:

Investigators said it could be the ventilating system, the paint or varnish, the foam insulation, the electrical insulation, the cafeteria food, the rays emitted by microcomputers, the asbestos fireproofing, the adhesive on shipping containers, the fumes from the chlorinated pool, or perhaps something deeper, finer-grained, more closely woven into the fabric of things.

J.A.K. Gladney (Jack) describes this nonspecific menace with a kind of serene detachment and optimism. Surely things will get better! But he can’t quite mask his own disquiet and his nagging fear of death, and eventually this manifests as a poisonous cloud — an “airborne toxic event” — the result of an industrial accident, that floats over the town, requiring evacuation. In the aftermath, Jack and his family must confront their secrets, their poses, their fears, their ideas about the meaning of life and love, and a new set of quite extraordinary sunsets.

I’ve read a bunch of reviews of this book, including the introduction to my edition, written by Richard Powers, and none of them have addressed what I think is really the heart of the book. Don DeLillo does a spectacular job — prescient, even — talking about American consumerism, reality TV, psychopharmaceuticals, and the ways we connect before the Internet even existed in any real way. There are scenes sprinkled throughout this book that are gems, and I’ll talk about a couple later on. It’s a serious book, about death, fear, love, and meaning, and it’s also extremely funny: the founder of Hitler Studies who doesn’t speak or read German, for instance, or the mantras that come at random from radios and televisions (“Now we will put the little feelers on the butterfly,” “Only your code allows you to enter the system,””It’s the rainbow hologram that gives this credit card a marketing intrigue.”) His characters speak almost in code, as they use snatches of advertising in their dialogue. (Coke is it, Coke is it, Coke is it.)

But as I was reading, I kept thinking how warm this book is for a postmodern tour de force. This is no Pale Fire or even Pnin. It doesn’t dazzle, even in its best-constructed scenes. This book is essentially a domestic comedy, almost a satire. The relationships between Jack and Babette and their children and stepchildren and many exes from all over the place are the center of the book. We get to know Heinrich, the gloomy teenage boy; Denise, the tenacious girl; Wilder, the wordless toddler and his epic, day-long crying jag; Jack, who watches his children sleep so he can sleep himself; Babette, generous in every way; Jack’s ex-wife, who reads and interprets novels for the CIA. At the heart of this maelstrom of personalities lies the fear of death that feeds the accidents of the rest of the book: the airborne toxic event, the self-aggrandizing behavior on campus, the self-medication, the consumerism. One of the central questions of the book is whether fear and death can poison the family love that is the real topic of White Noise.

I’ve mentioned that there are several memorably well-constructed scenes that are absolute gems. If you’ve read this, I could probably just name them and you’d know: a scene in a college classroom, comparing Elvis to Hitler; a plane that almost falls out of the sky. Maybe my favorite was the Most Photographed Barn in America, in which Jack and his friend Murray go to see this site. As they approach, they see several signs for it, and then people setting up their cameras to photograph it.

“No one sees the barn,” he said.

A long silence followed.

“Once you’ve seen the signs about the barn, it becomes impossible to see the barn.”

He fell silent once more. People with cameras left the elevated side, replaced at once by others.

“We’re not here to capture an image, we’re here to maintain one. Every photograph reinforces the aura. Can you feel it, Jack? An accumulation of nameless energies.”

There was an extended silence. The man in the booth sold postcards and slides.

“Being here is a kind of spiritual surrender. We see only what the others see. The thousands who were in the past, those who will come in the future. We’ve agreed to be a part of a collective perception. This literally colors our vision. A religious experience in a way, like all tourism.”

Another silence ensued.

“They are taking pictures of taking pictures,” he said.

 

Of course, then we realize that we are observing Jack and Murray observing the people taking pictures of taking pictures. It is an exceptionally elegant little piece about signs, simulacra, and the meaning of tourism, and there are other parts of this book that work with the same precision, punch, and humor. One of DeLillo’s main ideas is that the map is not the territory: we are not to confuse the sign with the reality, something that becomes more and more difficult in a postmodern world.

White Noise made a real impression on me, and I also thoroughly enjoyed it, something that’s been on my list for a very long time. I can see its long shadow and its influence on other authors, especially on David Foster Wallace, who I am certain must have read this book with great attention. Have you read this, or something else by DeLillo? What did you think?

This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to White Noise

  1. Jeanne says:

    I read it two decades ago because someone told me it was a satire, but it’s not the kind I enjoy much.

    • Jenny says:

      Sorry you didn’t like it much! I did — I thought it was funny, and also insightful and well-constructed. I liked a lot of the characters, as well. You’re the satire expert, though.

  2. Dear Jenny, Thanks so much for giving this book your attention. It seems to me to be one of the most worthwhile books I’ve ever read, at least of postmodern kind, which has to go a ways to gain my allegiance. After I read it, I read (I think it’s called) “Mao III” or something like that, but didn’t find it nearly as good. My favorite scene in “White Noise” is when Jack and his son are in the car trying to decide whether or not it is raining. I find that absolutely one of the funniest satires of naming I’ve ever come across.

    • Jenny says:

      That scene was not only a wonderful piece on naming, it was a hilarious scene about teenage boys and their fathers — which is why I think this book is at least as much a domestic comedy as a piece of postmodern brilliance.

  3. Elle says:

    Oooh. I’d like to read DeLillo, and apparently this is a good one to start with.

  4. Doesn’t the climax – it’s been a while – involve a little kid on a tricycle? Back when this was The Most Photographed Novel in America, so to speak, the domestic family side of the book seemed to be ignored, or not even recognized, in favor of the semiotics, which I guess is its own kind of good satire.

    The weakest part of The Corrections, itself a domestic comedy, were where Franzen tried to be DeLillo.

    • Jenny says:

      Not so much the climax as the denouement, yes, a little kid on a tricycle crossing a highway full of speeding cars. This book doesn’t have the sadder, deeper insight of Nabokov’s novels, but it’s saying something about family I haven’t seen anyone address.

      I haven’t read The Corrections and I have no plans to. The more I read about Franzen, the less I have any plans to.

  5. Stefanie says:

    this is on my perpetual TBR list and I keep saying I’ll read it someday. I’m beginning to think I need to be a bit more proactive to make someday arrive!

    • Jenny says:

      I do recommend it, Stefanie — it was a very interesting novel, especially since I felt it could easily have been written this year and is thirty years old.

  6. Deb says:

    I’ve read WHITE NOISE and several other books by DeLillo–my favorite being RUNNING DOG. One thing I find with DeLillo is that I have to read his writing very fast and let the accumulation of the words roll over me (oddly, the other writer that works this way for me is Hunter S. Thompson). If I slow down and try to savor the writing, it seems to elude me. My favorite scene in WHITE NOISE is where Jack hears one of his daughters talking in her sleep and he leans over to listen closely, thinking he’s going to learn something deep and philosophical about childhood, and what she’s actually saying is, “Toyota Carolla” over and over.

    • Jenny says:

      That was a wonderful scene! The nonsense of the words like a mantra, waiting to be filled with meaning. And there, too, the tenderness of the scene.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

