Book Swap: 2017 Edition

It’s time again for one of Shelf Love’s favorite traditions: this is the seventh year that Teresa and I have given each other five book recommendations to read sometime during the coming year. Sometimes they’re books we’ve had on the back burner for ages. Sometimes they’re something we’ve only read in the past year, but we know the other person will love it! The best thing about the swap is that, as longtime friends, we know each other’s tastes so well, and we trust each other. In 2016 we had one bust: Teresa didn’t enjoy one of Jenny’s recommendations much, but overall we’ve had a huge amount of success and fun doing this. Let’s see how we’ll do in 2017!

Jenny’s picks for Teresa: 

  1. Young Romantics by Daisy Hay
  2. Life With a Star by Jiří Weil
  3. A High Wind in Jamaica by Richard Hughes
  4. The Mouse and His Child by Russell Hoban
  5. The Shuttle by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Teresa’s picks for Jenny

  1. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
  2. Our Souls at Night by Kent Haruf
  3. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  4. The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota
  5. A Kind of Intimacy by Jenn Ashworth

Teresa: So how did you know I was planning to finally get around to reading something by Frances Hodgson Burnett this year? I was vaguely thinking of starting with one of her children’s books, but The Shuttle has been on my mental list for years, as has A High Wind in Jamaica and Life With a Star. And I like how you often use the swap to catch me up on children’s books I never read. I’m not familiar with Young Romantics, but I enjoy literary biographies, and that crowd offers no end of interesting material.

Jenny: This was the year of just choosing oddities I thought you’d really love. I can’t wait to see what you think. And I love what you chose for me! Our Souls at Night and A Kind of Intimacy are on my TBR list because your reviews of them were so wonderful. And you’ve read several things by Jacqueline Woodson, so this helps me choose where to start. Hooray! Bring on the new year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Swap: 2017 Edition

  1. Karen K. says:

    I read The Shuttle this year and loved it. It was interesting to read something by Burnett that wasn’t a children’s novel. Some of the characters were a bit over the top but it was a really enjoyable read.

  2. Amy says:

    Love, love, love High Wind in Jamaica, Brown Girls Dreaming, and Our Souls at Night. Very fine picks!

  3. I love this tradition, as always! I’m excited to see what Teresa thinks of The Shuttle — I’ve been wanting to read that for years, and this could be a good year to do it in. Meanwhile, I second Teresa’s recommendation of the Ruth Ozeki book. I think you’ll really like it!

    • Jenny says:

      My Year of Meats was wonderful and actually kind of life-changing, and I’ve been told repeatedly that Tale for the Time Being is even better. I can’t wait to read it.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

