The WoMan Booker Shadow Panel Shortlist

Frances, Meredith, Nicole, Rebecca, and I have put our heads together and come up with a shared shortlist for the Man Booker Prize. I think it’s safe to say that few of us were particularly pleased with the longlist. Most of us struggled to come up with six books we really wanted to include. But we had different favorites, and I believe all of those favorites are represented here.

In alphabetical order:

  1. All That Man Is by David Szalay
  2. Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh
  3. My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
  4. The Many by Wyl Menmuir
  5. The North Water by Ian McGuire
  6. The Sellout by Paul Beatty

As you can see, this doesn’t match my personal list, but that’s okay. In fact, it’s pretty great because it shows how subjective and complex the whole exercise of choosing a prize list is. Everyone has different ideas of what makes a book great and how well a particular book achieves those criteria. It’s fun to hash that out with other smart readers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The WoMan Booker Shadow Panel Shortlist

  1. novelescapades says:

    I have been following along your Shadow Booker reading and have to agree 100% with your findings – this was a below par selection of Booker Longlisters.
    I selected three I wanted to read and only really enjoyed The North Water. I agree with your analysis of his Bloody Project but probably enjoyed it rather less than you did as I thought it fairly repetitive and dull, however I probably would have liked it more if I had subjected myself to the entire list :).
    I really had no patience at all with the Do Not Say We Have Nothing …
    I might have to give some of these others a try but I might wait and see who ends up on the shortlist.
    It was fun reading your posts, so well done on doing all the hard yards 😀

    • Teresa says:

      I’m sure I was grading His Bloody Project on a curve after reading all the others. It did have potential, and the structure was good. It just needed to be shortened, especially the trial section.

      I do recommend The Many. It’s short, so even if you don’t like it, it doesn’t take much time. ;)

      • Anonymous says:

        Thanks, yes I am curious by The Many and I would also pick up some of the others on your personal shortlist. I guess the question I would like to ponder now is what should have made it on the list this year ?

  2. Pingback: 2016 Man Booker Shortlist: Our Predictions | The Reader's Room

  3. It has been fun! And I am looking forward to even more fun after the official announcement tomorrow. Because I am not married to any one favorite the way I was last year, I am kind of hoping that their shortlist is as screwy as their longlist. Just for giggles.

  4. Bellezza says:

    The hashing is almost as good as the reading!

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

