Book Swap: 2016 Edition

This is the sixth year that Teresa and I have participated in one of our favorite traditions: each of us gives the other five book recommendations to read sometime during the coming year. Sometimes they’re books we’ve wanted the other person to read for ages. Sometimes they’re something we’ve only read in the past year, but we know the other person will love it! The best thing about the swap is that, as longtime friends, we know each other’s tastes so well: we’ve had varying degrees of success, but so far, we have had absolutely no failures. Let’s see how we’ll do in 2016!

Jenny’s Picks for Teresa:

1. Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi

2. Bellwether by Connie Willis

3. The Forest Unseen by David George Haskell

4. Every Man Dies Alone by Hans Fallada

5. Still Life by Louise Penny

Teresa’s Picks for Jenny:

  1. The Home and the World by Radmindranoth Tagore

2. Thorn by Intisar Khanani

3. Y: The Last Man (Vol. 1) by Brian Vaughn and Pia Guerra

4. The Silent Woman by Janet Malcolm

5. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

Teresa: I see a couple on that list (Oyeyemi and Willis) that are already on my bookshelves, so that’s exciting, and two of the others (Fallada and Penny) were on my radar as books I’d like to try at some point. And Haskell is entirely new to me, but it looks interesting, so I’ll look forward to seeing what it’s all about.

Jenny: When you’re participating in the TBR Dare, I like to give you some choices before April! The Silent Woman and Life after Life are both on my TBR, so I’m glad to get the nudge to read them this year. All three of the others are books I’ve admired when you’ve reviewed them, but put them off until “someday.” I’m so excited to read them now! Bring on 2016!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Swap: 2016 Edition

  1. Alex says:

    I think this is a great idea. I’m just wondering who I can inveigle into doing the same with me.

    • Denise says:

      Yeah, you’d have to know the other person really well, and trust them. Once I went round a friend’s house and she lent me about half a dozen books, all overlong. I still have some of them, that was 2 years ago.

      • Jenny says:

        This made me laugh! It’s so true that you have to trust someone really deeply before you can take unvetted book recommendations from her. I will read anything Teresa thinks I would like! Most other people — I’ll look a lot more carefully, let’s just say that.

  2. JaneGS says:

    There are some great books on both lists. I just finished book 2 in the Louise Penny series, and loved it…so Still Life could start a series for Teresa.

    I really enjoyed The Silent Woman and Life After Life, gearing up to read A God in Ruins in January.

    I like this tradition–sharing books is such a wonderful feeling.

    • Jenny says:

      It hits all my pleasure centers. When I make just the right book recommendation for someone, it is one of the happiest things I do. So satisfying, don’t you think? Like introducing a friend to a friend, and watching them hit it off.

  3. Bellwether is such a fun book! And Life After Life is not fun, but a fascinating read (even though I wasn’t a huge fan of the whole premise). Those are the only two I’ve read, but I hope you enjoy all the others just as much.

    • Jenny says:

      I’m sure I will! Teresa is a great reader and a great recommender. I went a little lighter for her this year (after giving her A Suitable Boy last year, I thought I’d better) and I hope she likes mine as well!

  4. Yay, I love this tradition! Of the books I’ve read on both your lists, I approve of them all! I have read all but one of Teresa’s picks for Proper Jenny, so I am seconding that whole list in particular. Can’t wait to see what y’all think of your book swap picks.

    • Jenny says:

      I’m really looking forward to that whole list, Jenny! I know you and Teresa have such similar taste, so I feel like they are your recommendations, too, in a sense.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

