Blogging Event: A Day in the Life

Day-in-the-Life-EventOne fun thing about blogging is the way we get a peek at other people’s lives—and get to share bits and pieces of our own. In my case, I usually share glimpses of my own life through discussing what I’m reading and, sometimes, how my life affects my thoughts on my reading. But when I saw Trish at Love, Laughter, Insanity encouraging bloggers to share a record of our day with each other, I couldn’t resist the opportunity.

I decided to keep a record of my activities this past Tuesday. I assumed it would be a fairly typical day, but as you’ll see, my day didn’t go precisely as planned.

6:00 am: Alarm goes off. I hit snooze as usual. Anya the cat jumps onto the bed to see if I’m getting up. She stops by a few more times until I decide to get up. I usually get out of bed at 6:20 or 6:30. Today, it was 6:30.

Anya usually digs in to breakfast right way, but she's slow about finishing.

Anya usually digs in to breakfast right way, but she’s slow about finishing.

6:30 am: Up and out of bed. First order of business is making coffee and feeding the cat. I got Anya in late December, and I initially had a lot of trouble finding a food that she liked and that agreed with her. Today she’s having Nature’s Variety Instinct Limited Ingredient Turkey. It’s not her favorite, but she will eat it with no ill effects later. So far, that and Weruva chicken varieties have been my best choices. She loves dry food, but the only dry food that doesn’t cause litter box problems later is Spot’s Stew. I feed it once in a while as a treat.

I get dressed while the coffee is brewing. I keep things simple in my work attire. Today it’s a dress from Gwynnie Bee with brown tights and black ankle boots. Make-up is just a little mascara and lip gloss. I’m lazy about make-up and hair and rarely spend more than a couple of minutes on it. I’ve been putting my hair up at night, which gives it some natural wave, and as I’m getting older it holds wave better than it used to.

Failing bread machine = Funny-looking toast

Failing bread machine = Funny-looking toast

7:00-ish. Breakfast is coffee and applesauce oatmeal toast with Trader Joe’s Fig Butter. I made the bread in my bread machine, which is on its last legs and making weird looking loaves. I got the machine 5 or 6 years ago at Goodwill for $10, so I’m not mad about it, but I’m not excited about buying another one, even though I love having an easy way to make bread.

While eating breakfast, I check e-mail, read blogs, and look at Twitter. I keep wanting to break this habit, but the truth is that breakfast is a good time for this stuff, and it keeps me from spending too much time on it at work. I’d still like to do a morning meditation instead (or in addition?). Today, I exchange e-mails with a few blogging friends and make the pleasant discovery that two of them will most likely be in DC for a visit at the same time. One of the great things about living in this area is that it’s one people tend to visit!

7:30-ish. Off to work. I listen to a podcast on the way, but I forgot to make note of which one.

Tea and Email (287x500)

Morning tea and e-mail

8:00-ish. Arrival at work. I’m the first person in my unit to arrive today, which isn’t unusual but not something I can count on. I’m a magazine editor and we’re approaching a May deadline, so I quickly check a couple of pages to hand off to our designer before settling in fully. Then, I make a cup of tea and get started.

Today is a slow day because we just had a conference, and a lot of people are out. My main goals for the day are to prepare the ads for our May issue and read unsolicited manuscripts for upcoming issues. I get the ads done quickly, but the stack of manuscripts is pretty high and could take a good chunk of the day. I check my e-mail and get to work.

11:30-ish: Not much progress on the manuscripts. I had a small bunch of grapes as a mid-morning snack to keep my energy up, but I’ve got a pounding headache, which makes it harder to concentrate on manuscript reading. At least it’s reasonably quiet today. Time for a lunch break.

12:45-ish: As I was warming up my leftover broccoli cheddar casserole for lunch, my boss arrived. My co-workers and I all wanted to hear about our conference, which she attended this weekend, so we had an impromptu meeting, and I had my lunch there. A coworker was having a birthday, so we had cake for her, too.

When I get back to my desk, corrected pages are waiting for me, so I look those over before returning to manuscript reading.

But first some Tylenol for this stupid headache. It had better go away by evening because I really want to go to water aerobics, and it’s no fun with a headache.

My view for the afternoon

My view for the afternoon

1:45: Still headache-y. Decided I need some Diet Dr. Pepper and Sun Chips.

4:00: Headache is exponentially worse. This is one where even my hair hurts. Managed to read a few more manuscripts, but now it’s just about time to go home. I consider going to the grocery store to pick up something to eat for dinner, since I won’t feel like preparing anything, but I decide I can get by with what I have. The noise and lights of the grocery store seem like more than I can deal with.

Sink (500x310)

Whhhhhyyyyyy? (Yes, I know the answer to that, but still…)

4:45: Home. Anya greets me with loud meows. She didn’t eat all the food I left out this morning, so I need to send it down the disposal. But the sink is full of dishes, and the dishwasher is still full. Every time, I promise myself I’ll unload the dishwasher right away, and I never do it. So the sink fill up, and I get annoyed with myself. Guess I’ll take care of it now, despite the headache.

5:30: Dishes are taken care of, Anya is fed, and I’m noodling around on the computer. Usually on Tuesday, I go to water aerobics. I had a persistent sinus and ear infection that kept me away several weeks last month, so I’ve been really wanting to get back into the twice-weekly routine. But loud music and jumping seem like a bad plan tonight. Instead, it will have to be pajamas and silence. Dinner is a bowl of cereal because it takes little effort. I read some blogs and Twitter before reading more of Sputnik Caledonia by Andrew Crumey. I’m having some reservations about the story, but I’m curious to see where it’s going.

9:00-ish: I totally fall down the comments rabbit hole of reliving Every Argument About Buffy on the Internet, From 1998 Until Now over at The Toast (Season 6 was awesome in all its terribleness, and it doesn’t even need Once More with Feeling to Be Awesome. [Have I mentioned that I like my fiction dark?] Also, Oz is the awesomest boyfriend of all the boyfriends, and it’s no wonder Willow decided she was done with boys because when it comes to boys she could do no better than Oz because there is no better than Oz.)

A typical Anya pose while I'm reading

A typical Anya pose while I’m reading

After all that, I did read some more of my book, but Anya is acting hungry, so I put some food in her treat ball and get the entertainment of watching her get it out. (If I put it in her bowl, she will inhale it. This slows her down and gives her some exercise—plus, it’s entertaining.) After that, more reading.

10:30-ish: Time for bed. Hoping to sleep the headache off entirely.

The good news is that I did sleep the headache away! But my evening was supremely lazy. At least the dishes got put away! (And there’s a dishwasher full waiting for me now. Will I wait until the sink is full again? Probably.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Blogging Event: A Day in the Life

  1. I really enjoyed reading this :) It’s interesting to get to know ‘A Day in the Life’ of bloggers. I love hearing about people’s jobs, because most people believe their job is boring. I particularly liked the cat parts and Buffy parts. I’m actually listening to a podcast at the moment called Dusted which talks about each episode of Buffy in detail! I hear they’re planning to do Angel as well. It’s making me do a well-overdue re-watch, in which I am indoctrinating my fiancé.

    • Teresa says:

      I think lots of jobs seem boring when you do them every day but much more interesting when they’re new. My job is sometimes boring and sometimes interesting to me. This was sort of a boring day, workwise.

      That Buffy podcast sounds great, but I’m going to try to resist for now. It would surely lead to a rewatch of the series, and I’ve done that relatively recently. But it’s hard to resist some serious Buffy talk.

  2. Beth F says:

    Ugh on the headache.

  3. Kay says:

    Oh, poor you with the headache. I have sympathy pains. Your cat is lovely – reminds me of my daughter’s kitty she named Moe. He was a dear. Water aerobics – did that years ago and it was such fun. I should look into it again. Thanks for sharing a day with us!

    • Teresa says:

      I’ve been doing water aerobics for about 3 years now and really love it. I like to exercise but hate feeling sweaty, so water exercise is perfect for me.

  4. Thank you for the peek inside the life of a(n obviously) busy magazine editor. Anya is a lovely cat; it’s clear by the expression on her face in the reading picture that she knows she is your intellectual “familiar.” The headache is too bad; I don’t generally suffer from headaches except when my eyes act up from too much computer reading, but I can sympathize anyway, because I have other distracting aches and pains to contend with. Water aerobics! Energetic you! Hope you get back to them soon.

    • Teresa says:

      Anya isn’t quite the cuddle bug my previous cat was, but every week she gets a little more openly affectionate. She certainly seems to enjoy my company–she pretty much always wants to be in the same room with me even if we aren’t interacting.

  5. Stefanie says:

    Anya is adorable. Poor you with the headache! I work under fluorescent lights all day and regularly get headaches from them. They can be so completely draining!

  6. Jeanne says:

    This was fun. And I love the photos of Anya.

  7. Man. I wish I had leftover Broccoli Cheddar Casserole for lunch today. That sounds way better than my lame-o can of soup…

  8. Gwynniebee! I love that dress. And your day sounds a lot like mine…lots of reading and tweaking!

    • Teresa says:

      I don’t know what I’d do without Gwynnie Bee. It has made my life so much better. (Besides getting nice clothes, being able to send them back unwashed has been a huge plus!)

  9. I hate headaches like that! I’m glad you were able to sleep it off but definitely no fun. A PJ and bowl of cereal night sounds like a good fix.

  10. Linda says:

    I hate those headaches. I didn’t join in on this because I didn’t think it would be interesting. Although your day seems a lot like mine and I enjoyed reading it. I hope Trish does this again and I’ll join in.

  11. Cindi says:

    So sorry about your headache. The worst especially when you’re so busy! Hope your next day was better.

  12. My cats make sure I get up if my alarm doesn’t get me out of bed too. I can relate to the dietary issues of a cat. My senior cat has a sensitive stomach and we’ve had to experiment with foods for him as well. The ones that work the best are never his favorites. :-(

    I am glad your headache finally went away. It sounded awful. Thank you for sharing your day with us. I feel like I’m getting to know people a little better by seeing a glimpse into their lives.

    • Teresa says:

      I’m hoping Anya is able to tolerate these foods (and that they don’t change their formulas) for a good long time. I do worry that it’s a sign of more serious issues to come.

  13. Ugh, headaches! Work and cake, pretty much the same in every workplace. Hope Anya finds the right food for her.

  14. joyweesemoll says:

    Tuesday was my day, too!

    Sorry about the headache — that doesn’t seem like much fun. Love Anya’s typical pose.

  15. Trish says:

    The worst when you have a sink full of dishes and a clean dishwasher. Vicious cycle. We are plagued by plastic sippy cups that I don’t like to run through the washer so I feel like our sink is ALWAYS full (or our counter with drying dishes).

    I’m so sorry for your headache! But glad that it was gone by the next day. I had no idea that you worked for a magazine!

    Anya is beautiful!

    • Teresa says:

      I don’t know why I hate unloading the dishwasher so much, but I do. And by the time I get around to it, there are enough dishes in the sink to fill it again. What’s weird is that I went through a period where I used my dishwasher primarily as a drying rack and never ran it at all, and dishes seemed much simpler.

  16. Aww, sorry about the headache! Glad it hasn’t stuck around (knock wood). I read that Buffy article too and got a big kick out of it — I could mostly see the point of all the imaginary commenters. I love Oz (Seth Green has never been so delightful), but I also loved Tara, and S6 DID have some serious flaws, and it wasn’t until S7 that I really got fed up with it. Many important points to consider. :p

    • Teresa says:

      I loved Tara, too, once I got over the fact that she wasn’t Oz. And she really won my respect when she stood up to Willow in S6. Her strength blew me away, as did her gentleness to Buffy.
      I totally get how S6 is flawed, but it’s still my favorite. Partly it’s because it’s the first season I watched from beginning to end as it aired. (I got into the show partway through S4, and my local station pulled it from the air in the middle of S5, so I missed a lot of it.) But I just generally love how raw the emotions are that season.
      And S7 was for sure the weakest. There are some great moments, and Buffy’s final speech is really important to me still (especially lately), but a lot of it is just a mess.
      I could seriously go on all day about Buffy. That show is weirdly important to me.

  17. florinda3rs says:

    I agree with practically everything you said here about Buffy, and totally understand how that website ate your evening! I should consider water aerobics myself–that “exercise without getting sweaty” thing sounds ideal. I enjoyed the photos of your day, and I’m glad to know you don’t get those headaches very often!

    • Teresa says:

      It is taking all my strength not to go back to see if there are more comments. The Toast commenters are *delightful* and they were having such fun riffing on it.
      I love my water aerobics class. The teacher chooses really fun music from lots of different eras and often with a silly theme. (It was TV theme songs for a while last year.) I’ve only ever been to her classes, so I don’t know how typical her style is.

  18. I love that dress you linked to — really pretty! I’m with you on wanting to try a meditation practice. I feel like it will help me start my day with more calm and focus… but for now I’d rather watch tv. Sorry about the headache. I hate those.

    • Teresa says:

      I’ve gone through periods when I did mediate and/or pray first thing in the morning, and it was helpful. But it’s been equally helpful right before bed, and I was able to be more consistent for longer then, so I might try getting back into that habit.

  19. Irene McKenna says:

    It sounds like a good day, aside from the miserable headache. :-( Your work sounds fascinating to me. And I love the bit about going down the Every Argument Over Buffy rabbit hole. :-) The hazards of the internet!

  20. Dishes are the worst… as soon as you turn around the kitchen is full again!! Hope you head will behave better so you can get back to your sports.

  21. I am definitely not showing my husband that Buffy link- I’d lose him for days.

  22. Heather says:

    I would do the same thing with the dishwasher if it weren’t for my hubby’s OCD. I would let stuff pile up for way too long but it drives him crazy and I don’t want him getting too annoyed at me so I usually try to take care of it when I can (one of the few chores that he hates and I can deal with doing). LOL! Glad your headache went away!!

    • Teresa says:

      My annoyance at a full sink is in a constant battle with my dislike of unloading the dishwasher. I think the sink has to reach a certain level for it to win out. (And often by then I’ve used enough dishes from the dishwasher to make unloading it go quickly!)

  23. I am loving these posts – I am getting a glimpse of others lives which make mine feel a little less crazy!

  24. jilllora says:

    Your funny looking toast looks heart-shaped. Maybe your bread maker is just telling you it loves you. :-D

  25. Michelle says:

    I am totally earmarking that Buffy link for this weekend. I would look at it now, but I might not come up for air and I am at work. LOL!

    Yay for lazy evenings. There is nothing wrong with those, especially when you were obviously not feeling well. If your hair hurt, it’s time to veg.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

