Book Blogger Buddies

The first two months of 2015 brought a lot of negative energy to some parts of the book blogosphere. Talk of plagiarism, burnout, and bloggers shutting their doors has made the community feel a little shaky—never mind that the growth of book blogging means that the community is also becoming increasingly fragmented. A recent twitter conversation about the issues led a group of us to respond to this challenging climate by re-launching the Book Blogger Buddy System.

Colorful books next to a modern laptopThe Book Blogger Buddy System, as originally launched in October 2012, was designed to foster direct connections and mutually supportive relationships between bloggers by playing matchmaker. When the program was originally launched, I was paired with Jeanne of Necromancy Never Pays, and we had some great conversations about our blogs and how we might improve them. Buddy System 2.0 will bring back opportunities for similar conversations, with a focus on creating mentor/protege matches between more- and less-experienced bloggers.

The Book Blogger Buddy System’s new home on Tumblr reflects a new emphasis on sharing experience and expertise. It’s a Q&A forum where you can submit questions about any and all aspects of book blogging–critical, technical, social, ethical–and get thoughtful, knowledgeable answers and advice and share your own ideas in the comments. We hope it will be a place where newer bloggers can find guidance from blogging vets, and where vets can trade information with each other.

Come visit the Book Blogger Buddy System…and bring your blogging questions!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Book Blogger Buddies

  1. Jeane says:

    I always seem to miss the drama these days. I didn’t realize there were issues of plagiarism going around. I read the post you linked to, and I admit I just don’t understand the issue, or the pressure. I guess I’ve never taken my blogging that seriously.

    • Teresa says:

      I was only aware of it because I happen to follow someone on Twitter who got plagiarized.
      I understand some of the pressure people put on themselves, but I feel lucky that I realized right away that the kind of blogging I enjoy was unlikely to ever make money or garner a huge audience, so I decided to focus more on enjoying the process instead.

  2. Hurrah! I am excited about the launch of this. Well done you and the rest of the folks who put it together!

  3. I read book blogs and I write one, but I’m obviously out of the book blogosphere loop because I almost never see any drama or controversy. In any case, the Buddy System sounds like a great idea!

    • Teresa says:

      I mostly get wind of that kind of stuff because I happen to be on Twitter when it’s being talked about. But the blogs I read most often don’t often end up talking about that stuff, which is fine by me! I like having a separate space for that kind of conversation when it’s needed.

  4. Yes, good luck with this good idea.

    In a fit of public-spiritedness, I signed up to be a mentor. Since I am pretty sure you, Teresa, are the only one of the five coordinators who has ever read a word I have written, you will know, if my name accidentally comes up as a mentor for a book blogger planning to turn her blog into “a business representing and marketing to authors,” to gently but firmly declare me unsuitable for the role.

    I hope everyone finds ways to create lots of positive energy.

    • Teresa says:

      Thanks, Tom! I will make sure the folks doing the pairing know that you’re most suited to be paired with someone who’s looking to promote lively conversation and turn a single book into a week of posts :)

  5. Must admit, my dedication to blogging has gone south over the last year. I’m lacking motivation and I just don’t have the same level of interest that I had when I first began. In the past, I’ve experienced some unsavory blogging happenings (aggressive comments and unnecessarily argumentative discussions), though this really has nothing to do with my shifting focus. In my case, I think it’s a mix of burnout and fading motivation…

    • Teresa says:

      I don’t think you’re alone in that flagging motivation at all. I’ve seen several people mention the same thing in the last few months. That’s the kind of thing that could make for good conversation over at the Tumblr. How do you push past burnout? When it is time for a break?

  6. Stefanie says:

    Due to the fragmentation of the book blogging community you mention I had no idea about all the negative stuff you mention. Makes me feel like I’ve been living under a rock or something! Love the tumblr. What’s the mentor time commitment like? I’m wondering because I’d sign up but I’m already feeling stretched thin lately and don’t want to agree to something I can’t keep up my end on.

    • Teresa says:

      Although a couple of bloggers I read regularly wrote a bit what’s been going on, but I mostly heard about it through Twitter. Being sick and having snow days the last few weeks meant I was on Twitter more to see the conversation about it.

      And I see Florinda answered your question about time commitment. You could probably note your concern about that on the sign-up form as well. As someone who’s been blogging steadily for more than 10 years, you’d have some great perspectives to share, even if you only have time to comment on the Tumblr as questions come up.

  7. Jeanne says:

    I still think of you as my buddy. I love that Tom is having a fit of public spiritedness! I signed up as a mentor, too, but as you know, I don’t really think about blogging that much except as a vehicle to work my will on the internets.

  8. florinda3rs says:

    As the person who matched you and Jeanne, I am so glad you talked about your positive experience with the first incarnation of the Book Blogger Buddy System, and I am excited to see what develops with version 2.0.

    In response to Stefanie’s comment/question re: the mentor time commitment: if it works out the way it did the first time around, I think that would depend on the individuals involved and what they want out of the arrangement.

    • Teresa says:

      I’m eager to see how it goes, too. One nice thing is that all of us organizers know each other but move in different (but overlapping) blogging circles, so we should be able to get a nice range of participants.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

