A Teeny Tiny Review of Little Face by Sophie Hannah

little face

Baby is swapped and the grandma’s a loser,

Mother is mad and the dad’s an abuser,

Who can be pulling these marionette strings?

These are a few of the Little Face things.

 

Dysfunction rules though the baby is tiny,

I’d like it more if the mom wasn’t whiny,

Why must I count up the desk-sergeant’s flings?

These are a few of the Little Face things.

 

Give me Rendell! Give me Highsmith!

Shirley Jackson too —

At least when I’m looking for well-written chills

I won’t have to reach for you.

(Abject apologies to the long-suffering Rodgers and Hammerstein.)

This entry was posted in Fiction, Mysteries. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Teeny Tiny Review of Little Face by Sophie Hannah

  1. Lisa says:

    Great, now I’ve got that song rolling through my head. I will not be adding this one to my TBR list. Lovely review though!

  2. realthog says:

    very ezra pound . . . or do I mean Ogden Nash?

  3. Teresa says:

    Heh. I keep wavering over whether to read one of her books because the summaries seem Rendell-esque, but I read another review not too long ago that gave me the impression that her books don’t hold a candle to Rendell. I’m just glad Rendell is prolific and still writing, so I don’t *have* to try the alternatives.

    And coincidentally, I keep getting Sophie Hannah and Louise Penny confused, so I’m glad you reviewed both this week. I’ll have a better chance of keeping them straight now.

  4. jenclair says:

    Hmmm. Maybe I’ll skip this and read The Girl Next Door, the new Rendell instead.

  5. Hahahahaha, you are such a delight.

  6. Deb says:

    I couldn’t agree more–in poetry or in prose. I’ve tried a couple of Sophie Hannah books and am puzzled about how popular (and critically lauded) they were. I think she comes up with fabulous premises but then can’t figure out how to resolve things, so resorts to hackneyed devices like the conveniently-discovered diary where the culprit has outlined his/her entire plan. What’s more astonishing to me is that Hannah was selected to write the “new” Poirot mystery. I probably would have avoided that even had it been written by Ruth Rendell, but I was glad I had an excuse to skip it with a clear conscience!

    • Jenny says:

      I agree that the premise was very good! And several of her other ones were as well. Is DC Waterstone so completely awful in all the other books as well? I nearly quit before reading the ending because he was so unprofessional and horrible to his well-meaning colleagues. And that was on top of the dull solution to the could-have-been interesting mystery. Oh well.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

