Elsewhere

TheRavenCyclebyMaggieStiefvater_zpsc4df7303Some of you may remember that last year I read and enjoyed the first of Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle novels, The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves. The fourth book in the quartet, Blue Lily, Lily Blue is being published in the U.S. tomorrow, and in anticipation, Ana, Aarti, Memory, Jenny, and I swapped theories (and hopes) about where the story might go. Check out our conversation at Lady Business.

And Jenny has a review of the new book up at Reading the End. I hope to get my own copy this weekend, when Maggie Stiefvater is in town for a signing at One More Page Books.

If you’re a fan of Susan Cooper’s Dark Is Rising sequence, you should check these out. They’re more mature books (Young Adult rather than Middle Grade), but they draw from the same Welsh mythology.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Elsewhere

  1. Alex says:

    I love ‘The Dark is Rising’. I am completely unable to drive past Cader Idris without looking for signs of the Grey King and the whole landscape terrifies me. What I would ever do should the car break down there I don’t know. Getting out and walking would not be an option! So, this is a series I have to read. Thanks for the recommendation.

    • Teresa says:

      I have got to reread the Susan Cooper books one of these days–maybe when I finish this series, so I can look for links!

      My sisters live in the area where these books are set (Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley), and I’ll probably be looking for landmarks next time I’m down there. Stiefvater makes great use of the landscapes there, which is something else she has in common with Cooper.

  2. Jeanne says:

    This is exciting. It is you and Jenny who convinced me to start reading this series, and now I’ve ordered an autographed copy of this new one!

    • Teresa says:

      I’m so happy you’re enjoying these as much as I am! I’m really hoping I can go see her this Saturday and get my own signed copy, but my schedule is crazy. (I could order a signed copy, but I like the experience of the signing more than having the copy.)

  3. You know, I hated the Dark Is Rising books, hated them. I tried to read them so many times and I got bored and furious with them every time. It is a mystery how these books have captivated me so completely while having so much of the same DNA.

    (No it’s not. It’s because Gansey and Adam.) (And Ronan also, but initially what got me was the scene where Gansey’s trying to get Blue to come talk to Adam, and Gansey’s being awful and Adam’s dying of embarrassment.)

    • Jenny says:

      You know what, Other Jenny, I don’t think there is another person on earth whose taste I find so difficult to predict. I have read your blog for years and years, and I love it to pieces, but I can never ever tell what you’ll like and what you won’t. I’m usually pretty good at that. But for you, I would buy you a beautiful piece of pottery or something and not a book.

      • Teresa says:

        Oh, and Jenny, you should try this series. I *think* you’ll enjoy it. The first book is good, but the second book is what hooked me. (You’ll also recognize some of the setting, probably even more than I did.)

      • Jenny says:

        Oh, I’m interested! It’s on my list for sure!

    • Teresa says:

      I, too, am mystified at your dislike of the Dark Is Rising. I loved them and they really seem up your alley. But, I can see that the main characters are very different. I like Will Stanton just fine, but I’m much more emotionally invested in Gansey and Adam and Blue and … oh, everybody.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

