The Scorpio Races

What it’s like is a battle. A mess of horses and men and blood. The fastest and strongest of what is left from two weeks of preparation on the sand. It’s the surf in your face, the deadly magic of November on your skin, the Scorpio drums in the place of your heartbeat. It’s speed, if you’re lucky. It’s life and it’s death or it’s both and there’s nothing like it. Once upon a time, this moment—this last light of evening the day before the race—was the best moment of the year for me. The anticipation of the game to come. But that was when all I had to lose was my life.

Scorpio RacesFor four of the last six years, 19-year-old Sean Kendrick has won the annual Scorpio Races in the island town of Thisby. His special connection with his horse, Corr, makes them fast and focused, even when surrounded by the predatory capaill uisce, the predatory water horses whose fierce hunger makes them monsters, as well as the best mounts a racer can imagine. Sean loves the capaill uisce, especially Corr, but he knows better than to trust them. It was nine years ago when he saw his own father die in the Scorpio Races, torn from Corr’s back by a grey stallion mid-race.

Puck Connelly lost her parents to the capaill uisce, but they weren’t racers. When the water horses are on the move, no one is safe on the water, and Puck’s parents were attacked by wild capaill uisce when they were out on their boat. Now, she and her two brothers are eking out a living, avoiding the races entirely. Until Puck gets the idea that running the race could keep her family together just a little longer.

My sister Kelly, who knows Maggie Stiefvater, introduced me to her books last year, urging me to try The Raven Boys, which I enjoyed but not nearly as much as I did The Dream Thieves. (In the interest of full disclosure, I should perhaps also mention that Kelly put me in touch with Stiefvater for a work project  after I’d read the books, so we’ve exchanged a few e-mails about her writing career.) The Scorpio Races is actually Kelly’s favorite of her books, but she thought I’d like The Raven Cycle books more. But as I eagerly await the publication of Blue Lily, Lily Blue, Kelly’s love of this book, along with Ana and Jeanne‘s reviews, got me to give me a try.

Jeanne notes in her review that if you’ve read any horse books, you probably won’t have a lot of trouble figuring out how this story is going to go. And that is true. The set-up gives us a weary champion in Sean and a plucky upstart in Puck, the first woman to run the race. The champion draws resentment for being great, especially when his greatness eclipses that of his employer’s son. The upstart draws resentment for bringing change, not just in  herself but in her choice of horse. The stakes are high for them both. Sean is running for Corr. Puck is running for her home. Some elements of the set-up are implausible. Puck’s initial reason for joining the race makes little sense, although a later development makes her situation more desperate and the race more important and likely. Her brother Gabe’s plans make sense, but his silence surrounding them makes him into a jerk—and a jerk I couldn’t believe in, when telling his family would be not just a courtesy but a practical necessity. So I had to get past some stuff. And I could.

The thing is, even within the not entirely unpredictable outline of the horse book with a dash of romance, there are a lot of things that could happen. The question of which of those things will happen is where much of the book’s magic lies. The race-day sequence is almost unbearable because no outcome could be wholly happy. The first-person narration throughout alternates between Puck and Sean, and during the race, the shift point of view keeps readers just enough in the dark about each of them when, in the chaos and blood, they lose sight of each other.

Thisby is a small community, losing people every year to the mainland, where there is more money and no monstrous horses. But home is not always safe, and neither is love. And what’s safe for one person is deadly peril for another. Each person has to know him- or herself and work out how to bring desire and need and talent together to create the best possible life. Both Puck and Sean are racing toward their futures, the sand flying under their horses’ hooves. They push their horses forward at a breakneck speed, yet they’re still figuring out what they want their destination to be. Much of this book concerns itself not just with winning a race but with knowing what the race’s goal is, knowing what you want and weaving your own desires with those of others. A complete win for everyone may not be possible, but the possibility is there, and so there’s a reason to race.

This entry was posted in Children's / YA Lit, Fiction, Speculative Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Scorpio Races

  1. yay :D I’m with your sister: I think this is my favourite too, though the Raven Cycle is not far behind at all.

    • Teresa says:

      Kelly attributed her love of it to the horses, but it is really good! But it’s hard to compare to The Raven Cycles because it’s a complete story and the Raven Cycle is only half done. But the race sequence! That was some fine writing.

  2. Jeanne says:

    I like what you say about the race’s goal. So true. I’ve just been through an exhausting race of travel and preparation for the start of three colleges (the one I work at and the ones my kids attend) and now finally feel like I can think about my own goals…perhaps I’ve been racing in harness!

    • Teresa says:

      Sometimes I think figuring out the destination is the hardest part of the race. I’ve kept myself in harness plenty of times because I don’t want to go too far in the wrong direction.

  3. Biblibio says:

    Okay, this is an incredibly convincing review. It’s making me a bit sad, but definitely very curious to read the book now…

    • Teresa says:

      There are some sad moments in the story, but it’s worthwhile in the end. You should give it a try! (And it’s one of the rare Stiefvater books that isn’t in a series, so a good place to start.)

  4. Anne Simonot says:

    I listened to the audiobook version and I loved it! Probably my favourite listen ever. I thought it was beautifully written and evocative. The dual narrators were perfectly cast. I need to read it in a print version someday.

  5. I’ve never been a horse book lady, which is maybe why I wasn’t as crazy about The Scorpio Races as your sister and Ana. I enjoyed this, but it wasn’t anywhere NEAR the level of love I have for the Raven Cycle.

    ps when will it be october why is it not currently october i don’t understand this universe in which it very persistently continues not being october

    • Teresa says:

      I liked horse books when I was a kid, and so I enjoyed the horsey bits of this. Whether I liked it more than the Raven Cycle will depend a lot on how the Raven Cycle turns out. One of the things I loved about this was getting a complete story. And October can’t come quickly enough, although after that I fear the waiting for book 4 will feel even worse!

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

