Bring Up the Bodies

When Wolsey fell, you might have thought that as Wolsey’s servant he was ruined. When his wife and daughters died, you might have thought his loss would kill him. But Henry has turned to him; Henry has sworn him in; Henry has put his time at his disposal and said, come, Master Cromwell, take my arm. Through courtyards and throne rooms, his path in life is now smooth and clear. As a young man he was always shouldering his way through crowds, pushing to the front to see the spectacle. But now crowds scatter as he walks through Westminster or the precincts of any of the king’s palaces. Since he was sworn councilor, trestles and packing cases and loose dogs are swept from his path. Women still their whispering and tug down their sleeves and settle their rings on their fingers, since he was named Master of the Rolls. Kitchen debris and clerks’ clutter and the footstools of the lowly are kicked into corners and out of sight, now that he is Master Secretary to the King.

In September 1535, when Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel’s sequel to Wolf Hall begins, Thomas Cromwell is one of the most powerful men in England. But his power depends on maintaining the good will of King Henry VIII. Henry has turned against past advisors, and Cromwell is haunted by the memory of Thomas More and Cardinal Wolsey. It’s no wonder, then, that when he sees signs that Henry is discontented with his new wife Anne Boleyn, he chooses to please Henry instead of Anne, the woman he helped bring to the throne.

Bring Up the Bodies covers just under a year of Cromwell’s life, September 1535 through summer 1536, just after Anne Boleyn’s execution. This shortened time frame makes this book much tighter and more accessible than the more ambitious and complex Wolf Hall. That’s not to say that this is a simple book, but the plot is more manageable and the conflicts are more clear, even when the characters’ intentions and motivation are not.

The story of Anne Boleyn’s downfall is familiar to just about anyone with an interest in English history. I think part of the modern fascination with the story has to do with how little is known about what really happened. Was Anne unfaithful? If so, with whom? In this book, which focuses on Cromwell’s part in her downfall, her actual guilt or innocence is hardly even relevant. What matters is what the king wants and how Cromwell can manipulate those around her to say precisely what is needed to make her look guilty enough. He knows the case against her is not very good:

It was a triumph, in a small way, to unknot the entanglement of thighs and tongues, to take that mass of heaving flesh and smooth it onto white paper; as the body, after the climax, lies back on white linen. He has seen beautiful indictments, not a word wasted. This was not one: the phrases jostled and frotted, nudged and spilled, ugly in content and ugly in form. The design against Anne is unhallowed in its gestation, untimely in its delivery, a mass of tissue born shapeless; it waited to be licked into shape as a bear cub is licked by its mother. You nourished it, but you did not know what you fed.

Watching Cromwell nourish this mewling mass and turn it into a death sentence is a horror. Whatever Anne’s guilt, her death was a tragedy, and the fact that the architect of her downfall knows the case is weak makes it worse. Yet Mantel doesn’t treat Cromwell as a villain, grasping hungrily for power wherever he can get it. He’s a pragmatist who looks out for his own interests and those of his son above anyone else’s, but he’s not interested in making people suffer unless he must. He’s not blood-thirsty; he just wants to maintain the position he has achieved and serve his country and king.

At times, Cromwell’s sensibilities come across as too modern; his distaste for torture and pride in his late daughter’s education seemed unlikely. Yet perhaps in Cromwell, we’re seeing what a modern man must become to live in such times. Being enlightened does not always mean acting enlightened when one’s own position is at stake. Cromwell is always balancing competing interests and loyalties, trying to maintain equilibrium between the past, present, and future queens; the king’s two daughters; and the diplomats and politicians who have their own interests in the situation. He guides events where he can, but his power is not absolute.

The story of Anne Boleyn has been told many times, but Mantel’s effort stands out not just because of her focus on Cromwell but also because of her writing. She elegantly incorporates just enough detail to give readers a sense of the time. I really enjoyed some of the imagery and figurative language, such as the conception and childbirth metaphor in the quote above.

As in Wolf Hall, I could have done without Mantel’s insistence on referring to Cromwell simply as “he” unless it’s absolutely necessary to name him. This device was less troublesome in this book than in Wolf Hall because she inserts his name more frequently when ambiguity seems likely, but that doesn’t change the fact that it felt to me like an unnecessary affectation that is just as likely to bring the reader up short as it is to draw the reader in. Maybe that’s her intention. I don’t know. I just know I could have done without it.

I understand that Mantel plans to write one more book about Cromwell that will cover the events leading up to his execution. I’m excited to see how she handles those final chapters of this remarkable life.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Historical Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bring Up the Bodies

  1. Alex says:

    Not reading this! Nothing to do with you, Teresa, but I’ve just picked this up from the library and I don’t want to be influenced by other people’s opinions :)

    • Teresa says:

      I totally understand that! Be sure to come back and tell me what you think when you read it–and I’m looking forward to your post.

  2. Gavin says:

    I am envious. There are many holds in front of mine at the library and, like Alex, I am not reading this post until after I read the book!

  3. Jeanne says:

    I like that this one covers less time. I want to read it, but then I don’t know if I’ll want to read the next one, when he’s executed. After all that!

    • Teresa says:

      Covering less time was very good. It makes for a much tighter narrative.
      I’m really excited about the next one–I want to see how he gets brought down (beyond what I know from history, of course)!

  4. I had very mixed feelings about Wolf Hall, and like you didn’t like the repetitive use of the word ‘he’. I could follow who was saying what but it seemed like an unneccessary choice.

    I’ve put a hold on this one from the library, I’m not sure enough that I’ll like it to buy my own copy.

    • Teresa says:

      I liked Wolf Hall a lot, but it wouldn’t have been my choice for the Booker that year. I think this book is much easier to get along with.

  5. Jenny says:

    I can’t wait to read these. All the good historical fiction I’m reading lately has me wanting to re-read some Dunnett!

    • Teresa says:

      I’ve been wanting to reread the Lymond books, if I can squeeze in another series. I hesitate to even suggest it when I’m just starting the Aubrey/Maturin books, but perhaps a readalong is in order?

      • Jenny says:

        Maybe we should just re-read KH? That way it’s a good taste of Dunnett but not a series. But it’s Lymond I’ve been wanting to re-read, too. Rats.

      • Teresa says:

        If I hadn’t just reread KH a couple of years ago, I’d be all for that plan. But it’s Lymond I’m wanting to reread. I’m up for it–it’s just a question of when.

  6. softdrink says:

    I still have Wolf Hall sitting around somewhere half read. It may be a long, long time before I get to this one.

  7. aartichapati says:

    I really enjoyed this book. I have read from some people that Mantel idealized Cromwell, but I don’t think that’s true. You see him being very pragmatic, and over and over he tells us that he has no friends at court, no one to support him, and so he must do what Henry wants him to do. In a way, I saw him in this book as hunted, and he becomes more and more isolated. It’s easy to see that things won’t end well for him- I don’t think he has any illusions on that score, as he tells people that he doesn’t think he will die a natural death or live to be a very old man.

    • Teresa says:

      I wouldn’t say she idealized him either. I think he was unrealistically modern at times. I suppose his friendlessness could be a way of creating sympathy for him, but I don’t think there’s any way to escape the fact that what he did to Anne was terrible. He’s not a good man, or a bad one either exactly. I think of him as morally compromised, and it’s his pragmatism that puts him in that compromised position. It’s what’ll do him in eventually.

  8. sakura says:

    I just finished Wolf Hall a few weeks ago and am still reeling at how good it is. I particularly like her take on Cromwell as a man who climbs up the hierarchy due to his knowledge of finance, strategy and hence power, rather than the familiar route of birth, wealth and leading armies. I can’t wait to read Bring Up The Bodies especially to see exactly how manipulative Cromwell can be.

  9. boardinginmyforties says:

    I’m behind as I still need to read Wolf Hall.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

