Obasan

I have long been aware of the shameful treatment of Japanese Americans during the second World War. They were forcibly relocated from the West Coast and put in internment camps, suspected of treachery with no evidence, the victims of hysteria and political expediency. I was not aware, however, that Canada had a similar policy with regard to Japanese Canadians. During World War II, over 22,000 Canadian citizens of Japanese origin were forced to relocate from British Columbia to prairie provinces They were made to believe that their goods were to be held in trust until they returned or resettled, but in fact their homes and assets were sold cheaply at auction. White-collar jobs were not open to them, and thousands were deported to Japan, a country they had never seen. Joy Kogawa’s Obasan is a novel that tells this story, lyrically, sometimes didactically, but ultimately movingly.

Obasan is told mostly from the point of view of Naomi Nakane, a third-generation (“Sansei”) Japanese Canadian. Her uncle has died, and she returns to her aunt, Obasan’s, house, to prepare for the funeral. As she sifts through documents, she goes through the painful reconstruction of memories she had been repressing as useless: an idyllic childhood in Vancouver, and then the bewildering horror of war, suspicion, separation from her parents, and the disappearance of everything she has ever known. Naomi and her brother, Stephen, are in the care of their aunt and uncle. They go first to a ghost town called Slocan, populated only by displaced Japanese. This place, though spartan, eventually becomes homelike, with a communal bath and a store where they can buy familiar foods. But another wave of displacement comes from the government, and they must go to Alberta and work as beet-pickers under the worst possible conditions. Naomi’s heart hardens as much as her hands.

The theme that rings throughout this book, to the point that it is sometimes a bit didactic, is that these people are Canadian citizens. They are not Japanese nationals, and it’s clear almost from the first that there is no reason to suspect their loyalty. At first, they trust the RCMP, they nail a Canadian flag to their shack, they trust that all will come right: surely a citizen cannot be deported from his own country. But the scapegoating, greed, racism and hysteria continue and assume nightmare proportions. Canadian-born Japanese are treated worse than German-born Germans living in Canada, and none of them understand it until it’s too late.

Kogawa’s prose (when it is not simply spelling out real regulations like curfew and displacement orders) is lyrical and beautiful. She uses images of stones and streams to talk about silence and forgetting, acceptance and prejudice. The Nakane family are Christians, and there is a stunning scene of a hasty Communion, shared around a flickering lamp, the language slipping between Japanese and English. It recalls Passover, and later the flight into Egypt, the family about to leave for an unknown land. “That there is brokenness,” says the priest, another Japanese man caught in the trap. “That this world is brokenness. But within brokenness, the unbreakable name. How the whole earth groans until Love returns.” And in the end, through all the hardship and tragedy even worse than the hardship Naomi and her family experience, love does return. This is a quiet, burning book, that opens a window on an experience I knew little about.

This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Obasan

  1. Lisa says:

    Growing up in Washington State, I learned about the U.S.’s internment of Japanese Americans, but I was surprised when I went to school in Massachusetts that the students there had never even heard of it. I don’t remember ever learning anything about the Canadian internments, though. I have had Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston’s Farewell to Manzanar on my TBR pile for a while now, but I’ll be looking for this one as well.

    • Jenny says:

      That’s fascinating! I can’t remember where I learned about Japanese American internment (I grew up in Virginia), but I know that many people still don’t know about it. That could easily explain the parts of Kogawa’s book that have a bit of a didactic or explanatory feel. If you have to start from scratch, with the bare facts, with your countrymen, such a tone might be inevitable.

  2. This was the only book I ever had to study in school that I really did not like. Both Obasan and Kogawa’s children’s version of it (Naomi’s Road) are widely studied here (Vancouver) in both elementary and high school to compliment history lessons. I think they are incredibly important books but I just never enjoyed Kogawa’s excessively lyrical style.

    • Jenny says:

      To me, the style was not excessively lyrical — it had some very poetic parts to it, but other parts were ordinarily narrative, and still others were quite dry. The tone was suited to the content, I guess is what I mean. Have you read it as an adult? I only ask because some of the books I hated as a high-school reader, I loved after college. (Next month I am going to try another one, on Teresa’s suggestion — Sister Carrie!) Of course that might not be the case for you. But I did think it was beautiful, not overwritten or purple.

  3. I read this book in college, which was the first time I’d heard of both the U.S. and Canadian internment policies. I was shocked. I can’t say I loved this book, but I liked it enough to re-read it a few years ago when I co-hosted the WWII Reading Challenge. I do think it’s an important and informative book.

    • Jenny says:

      I think I agree with you, that it’s important and I liked it a lot without totally falling in love with it. It’s beautiful and powerful, for sure.

  4. Stefanie says:

    Isn’t this a wonderful book? I read it in a literature by women class in college and loved it. I don’t thnk it is that widely known so when I see someone has read and liked it it makes me happy :)

  5. I leave a response when I like a post on a site or if I have something
    to add to the conversation. It’s triggered by the fire displayed in the article I looked at. And on this post Obasan | Shelf Love. I was actually moved enough to drop a thought :-) I do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it just me or does it look like like a few of these remarks come across like left by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on additional social sites, I’d
    like to follow you. Would you list every one of your communal sites like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

