Their Eyes Were Watching God

You know, even at this late date, I can occasionally be tricked into thinking that the classics are books we read, not for pleasure, but because they are good for us, like medicine, books we “ought” to read. I put Zora Neale Hurston’s best-known novel, Their Eyes Were Watching God, on my list mostly because I thought I “ought” to read the story of Janie, a young African-American girl pushed into a loveless marriage by her grandmother. Janie marries two other men before the end of the story, and the shape of those relationships and Hurston’s eagle-eyed social witness form the content of the novel. Now that I’ve read it, I can say I was right: I ought to have read the book. But I loved it as well. I really should have known.

Janie’s three relationships take place in a context given to her by her grandmother, who was born into slavery.

Honey, de white man is de ruler of everything as fur as Ah been able tuh find out. Maybe it’s some place way off in de ocean where de black man is in power, but we don’t know nothin’ but what we see. So de white man throw down de load and tell de black man tuh pick it up. He pick it up because he have to, but he don’t tote it. He hand it to his womenfolk. De nigger woman is de mule uh de world so fur as Ah can see.

This comparison of a black woman to a mule — an animal, the lowest of the low, with no hope of equality or freedom — comes back many times to haunt Janie. In her first marriage, to a much older man, she refuses to do anything around the farm, finding it degrading to work for someone who sees her as a useful asset rather than an equal and a lover.

In her second marriage, to the glib Jody Starks, the mayor of Eatonville, she finds herself on a pedestal among the townspeople, but constantly denigrated by her husband, and still starved of the love she craves. Her husband, wishing to be seen as magnanimous, buys an old overworked mule and sets it free, but is incapable of such a level of generosity with his wife. (The fact that it’s a mule and not another kind of animal didn’t escape me.) She must mind the store, but remain silent.

It’s not until her second husband’s death that Janie meets the drifter Tea Cake, a younger man who not only gives her the love she’s been waiting for, but the equality and confidence she’s wanted as well. When she protests at their first meeting that she couldn’t walk seven miles, he says, “Ah’m seen women walk further’n dat. You could, too, if yuh had it tuh do.” At this treatment, Janie’s pleasure, joy, and sexuality blossom. For Tea Cake, she’s willing to work at menial tasks, just to be near him. Working like a mule is irrelevant if you’re not treated like one. It is also at this time that Janie becomes a storyteller. Instead of having to stand on the store porch and listen, as she did in Eatonville, with Tea Cake she can participate and create her own stories. He welcomes her voice.

All this takes place in the near-total absence of white people. Eatonville, where Janie and her second husband live, is a black town with a black mayor. Janie and Tea Cake live in an all-black community in the Everglades. White people enter the picture only twice: when they dragoon Tea Cake into service burying the dead after a terrible hurricane, and as a jury at the very end of the novel. This was very interesting to me, because it gave the book a very different tone than other African-American novels I’ve read (most of Toni Morrison’s novels, Ralph Ellison, Richard Wright…) that take place in the context of a white-dominated world.

You can see from the quotations I’ve chosen that the dialogue is written in phonetic transcription of heavy dialect. (The narration is in a very different voice, poetic and fluid.) I know that at the time the novel was written (1937) Hurston received strong criticism for this choice from authors like Wright and Ellison, who thought she sounded like a minstrel show. I admit that at first, it’s hard to read, like reading a language you’re a bit rusty in. You can’t disappear invisibly into the novel in the same way you usually can. I happen to think that’s a good thing: the preservation of a world and a culture the way it was. Both the dialogue and the narration are full of wisdom, humor, and insight. This was a terrific book. I’m so glad I thought I ought to read it.

This entry was posted in Classics, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Their Eyes Were Watching God

  1. JoAnn says:

    I loved this, too. The audio version, narrated by Ruby Dee, is phenomenal!

  2. This is one of my favorite books. She does the dialect portion well, and it’s nice that it’s broken up with narration. My high school English teacher recommended this to me, and I was also afraid it would be a bit dull or that I wouldn’t be able to relate to it, but I was shocked to read all the action and passion it has. Janie is such a wonderful, empathetic character. You just want to reach in and give her a hug. The version I read had introductory material about how Hurston was buried in poverty and Alice Walker had to work to track down her grave and rescue her from obscurity, which made me forever grateful to Walker! And it played well with a theme of the novel, that there’s always hope even when things are terrible. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • Jenny says:

      What I think surprised me was the humor. I sort of expected it to be very sad and solemn, but a lot of the scenes are extremely funny, and Janie herself gets off a lot of one-liners. I did enjoy it very much.

  3. Aarti says:

    Oh, I know exactly what you mean about reading classics because you feel like you SHOULD and then realizing that you adore them. That’s how I felt about Cry, the Beloved Country and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn this year. Clearly, I should get over that thought process.

    I’ve never read any Hurston, but I shall add this one to my list.

  4. I still have the same problem that you do, sometimes I think I ought to read a book and forget that´I could actually enjoy it. The story seems great, I just think I’ll have some trouble with the dialog.

    • Jenny says:

      The dialogue is actually not that hard. It took me a little time to get used to, but once I was in the swing of it, it was really full of flavor.

  5. Jeane says:

    I just read this last year myself, for the first time. It had always been in my head as a book I ought to read, and like you I was glad I finally did! The dialect really threw me off for a while, but then I got used to it and even enjoyed the extra flavor of place and character it gave the story.

  6. amymckie says:

    I really ought to read this one as well, and luckily for me it is on my shelf. I find it interesting how the novel is so centered around black spaces. I would suspect that would give a different story for sure, in many ways. Looking forward to it.

    • Jenny says:

      That was a really interesting part of it. I don’t think I’ve ever read an African-American novel that so excluded white people (though I have certainly read hundreds of white novels that excluded black people!) It made for a different tenor to the book.

  7. Rebecca Reid says:

    I love this book! I listened to the audio the first time (about 5 years ago?) and loved it. I didn’t even know it was written with the dialect, it flowed so well on audio. I loved reading it too. Definitely one to revisit. I like your thoughts on the book. So much to think about.

  8. I loved this book too! It was a rare required reading book in high school that we actually enjoyed, didn’t just tolerate.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

