Cakes and Ale

cakesCakes and Ale by W. Somerset Maugham is an excellent novel about novel writing and about how life interacts with novel writing and how humans interact with each other. The narrator, Willie Ashenden, is a novelist with strong, sometimes hilarious opinions about his colleagues. In the opening chapter, he describes the successful novelist Alroy Kear in seemingly kind terms, but the kindness has a bite to it:

He was so pleasant that his fellow writers, his rivals and contemporaries, forgave him even the fact that he was a gentleman. He was generous in his praise of their fledgling works, and when they sent him manuscripts to criticize could never find a thing amiss. They thought him not only a good sort, but a sound judge.

This passage gave me flashbacks to The Way We Live Now. There’s a lot about the tone Maugham uses here that reminds me of Trollope’s description of Lady Carbury’s efforts to get good reviews of her substandard book.

Kear is contacting Ashenden because he is working on a biography of the great, recently deceased novelist Edward Driffield, and he’s hoping Ashenden will share some of his recollections of the time he spent with Driffield when he was young. Much of Cakes and Ale is made up of Ashenden’s memories of Driffield and his free-spirited first wife, Rosie. Rosie, a former barmaid, did what she pleased and loved freely, and her relationships with Driffield and with Ashenden form the heart of this story.

The scandals surrounding Driffield’s marriage to Rosie cover the usual ground of social class, sex, and the social expectations of women. Rosie lives as she pleases without regard for the usual conventions. It’s not clear until the novel ends how much Driffield knows or cares about Rosie’s activities. And it’s not clear how her actions influence his work; the best of his novels were said to be written when he was married to Rosie. Why?

This is the second Maugham novel I’ve read (the other being Of Human Bondage), and I think it’s safe to say that I’m now a confirmed fan. His writing is excellent, and his insights are thoughtful, and his wit is pleasing. I’ll definitely be reading more of his work in the future.

This entry was posted in Classics, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cakes and Ale

  1. Katherine says:

    I love Maugham’s novels as well, though I haven’t read Cakes and Ale (it’s been on my TBR list for months now, so I should get cracking!). The Painted Veil is one of my favorites by him.

  2. Jenny says:

    I love Maugham! I compare him (favorably) to Hemingway: international settings, macho men, sacrifices, legacy of war, women, etc. but much less ham-fisted writing. In my (not terribly) humble opinion.

  3. Matthew says:

    I love Somerset Maugham! Anthony Trollope’s works do remind me of Maugham except Trollope’s is more dramatic. I’ve been putting this book aside probably because of the ambiguous and weird title. I’ll bring it up to my list when I’m engaging in another Maugham read-a-thon.

    My favorites, in that order, so far is The Painted Veil, Of Human Bondage, and The Razor’s Edge. For non-fiction, it’s The Gentlemen in the Palour.

  4. adevotedreader says:

    I confess I haven’t read any Maugham yet- the line “They thought him not only a good sort, but a sound judge.” and the Trollope comparison make me think I’ll start with this.

    I have to stick up for Hemingway though- he’s easy to parody but for me it works. A Sun Also Rises gets me every time.

  5. Teresa says:

    Katherine: The Painted Veil is one I definitely want to read. I loved the movie.

    Jenny: I like what little Hemingway I’ve read, but Maugham is more my style. It’s just the writing draws me in more.

    Matthew: The title really doesn’t fit the book at all. I think some editions have the subtitle, “The Skeleton in the Cupboard,” which is more accurate, but maybe a little too on the nose. I hope you do enjoy this one!

    Sarah: I did like Of Human Bondage better than this one, but it’s quite a tome and generally more serious. I can’t remember if you’re a Hardy fan, but I found out after reading this book that some believe Driffield was loosely based on Hardy, which adds a layer of interest.

  6. adevotedreader says:

    I’m a huge Hardy fan, so will definitely start with this.

  7. Amanda says:

    I read Of Human Bondage for the first time in high school and fell in love with Maugham. But I haven’t read anything else of his! I’ve definitely been wanting to read more and will check out this book. Great review!

  8. Pingback: January/February 2009 reviews : 1% Well-Read Challenge

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

