Offshore

offshore

 The characters in Penelope Fitzgerald’s Offshore live in a world in between, on a colony of barges in the Battersea Reach on the Thames. For one reason or another, they don’t quite fit into the community on land, but they aren’t quite able to strike out and cut themselves off completely. So they create an unlikely little community amongst themselves, with its own customs, expectations, and structure.

In the first half of this little 140-page book, we get to know the characters and their community. We see how they rely on one another, and how they get on one another’s nerves. We meet Richard of the Lord Jim, who likes to keep his boat in perfect working condition, even if his marriage is not. We meet Nenna, who bought Grace as a home for her and her daughters, Martha and Tilda, when her husband was out the country, only to find that her husband was unwilling to live in such an unconventional manner. And then there’s Stripey, ship’s cat on the Grace, whom Fitzgerald describes here with the humor and attention to detail that is typical of Offshore:

Through years of attempting to lick herself clean, for she had never quite lost her self-respect, Stripey had become as thickly coated with mud inside as out. She was in a perpetual process of readjustment, not only to tides and seasons, but to the rats she encountered on the wharf. Up to a certain size, that is to say the size attained by the rats at a few weeks old, she caught and ate them, and, with a sure instinct for authority, brought in their tails to lay them at the feet of Martha. Any rats in excess of this size chased Stripey. The resulting uncertainty as to whether she was coming or going had made her, to some extent, mentally unstable.

The first half of the book has no plot to speak of. Instead, we get portraits of the characters and glimpses of their daily lives, as well as a few minor trials. Starting at about the halfway point, several characters reach a crisis point. Events within their little community, or from the world outside, force them to take new and sometimes unexpected paths. And the final moments of the book, well, let’s just say that the ending is as bold an ending as I’ve seen in anything I’ve read recently.

I liked the quirky people of Battersea Reach. Fitzgerald describes them with sensitivity, honesty, and humor, and I was drawn into their little community. Fitzgerald doesn’t beat her readers over the head with judgments and opinions about her characters and their world. She just tells their stories.

This was my first Fitzgerald, and it was a good one for me. I’ve seen Fitzgerald’s name mentioned on a lot of blogs, but I’ve not seen much about this particular book (which is a surprise, because it’s the one that won the Booker). I’m curious about how it compares to her other books. Any Fitzgerald fans care to enlighten me? Which of her books do you like best?


Because Offshore won the 1979 Booker Prize, it qualifies for the Book Awards II Challenge, which leaves me with only one book left.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Offshore

  1. Sandra says:

    Nice review, I loved this book when I read it.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m sorry to say I’ve only read The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald, which I found underwhelming. I’ve been meaning to give her a second chance though, as like you say she has many devoted fans. Offshore sounds like a good place to start.

    John Self at Asylum was recently impressed by The Beginning of Spring and I’ve seen many favourable mentions of The Bluest Flower and The Golden Child, especially over at Dovegrayreader scribbles.

  3. Jenny says:

    I read this one, Offshore, and also The Gate of Angels. I thought both were a little too relentlessly quirky/ marginal/ plotless for me. “Underwhelming” might be the way to put it. Not bad, but not great. You might try The Gate of Angels, though; it had some memorable moments.

    Personally, for Penelopes, I like Lively.

  4. Teresa says:

    Sandra: Thanks! Have you read any other Fitzgerald’s you’d like to recommend?

    Sarah: I had intended to start with the Bookshop, but I saw that several people had the same reaction you did. My local library has a lot of Fitzgerald, so I’ll look for the others you mention.

    Jenny: I was in the mood for quirky when I picked this up, so it worked for me. Plus, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the nature of community, and this book really spoke to that. I do plan to read some Penelope Lively, but my library branch seems to like Fitzgerald better because they carry a lot of her books, as opposed to one or two Livelys.

  5. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: December 20, 2008 at Semicolon

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

