The Omnivore’s Dilemma (Audio)

Jenny wrote an excellent review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma back in June. Go read it now for some background on this fascinating, scary—and potentially life-changing—book. Now that I’ve finished listening to the audio book, I can say that heartily concur with her.

Since Jenny has covered the highlights of the book so well already, I hope you all won’t mind my sharing a few personal reflections on the topic. Over the past year, I’ve been making an effort to eat more local food—primarily fruit and vegetables. I’ve even joined a CSA! For those who don’t know, CSAs provide members with a selection of fresh produce every week or two. Members must pay up front, thereby sharing the risk with the farmer. It’s more expensive than the grocery store, but it has forced me to learn to eat some things I would never think to buy (eggplant, beets) and reintroduced me to some old favorites from when I was growing up on a Virginia farm (turnips, cabbage). Yum!

However, I’d not given much thought to the meat I eat until reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma. I was troubled on many levels by what Pollan had to say about the way much meat is produced in the U.S. Animals in the factory farms Pollan visited are manufactured, not born and raised. And the manufacturing process does not appear to be about raising truly healthy animals, just big ones that don’t get sick and die before they’re slaughtered.

Pollan’s discussion of Polyface Farm provides a look at what one possible answer. This Virginia farm practices sustainable, “beyond organic” farming in which the animals form a sort of mini-ecosystem. It’s an impressive model that is apparently gaining ground.

So here is the part where I gloat a little. After reading about Polyface, I decided to look into getting some local meat. I live just outside Washington, DC, and there are a handful of butchers that specialize in local, grass-fed meat and some buying clubs that bring in bulk orders from area farms. It’s similar to the CSA model, but with less commitment. And, what do you know, Polyface has a buying club in my area! I placed an order, and in a few weeks, I’ll be enjoying some Polyface chicken breasts, ham, and sausage.

Although I am excited to be finding a way to incorporate more local, sustainably grown food into my diet, I don’t know that this is the best solution for everyone. For one thing, it is expensive. Also, I’m not sure how well this model could work on a large scale. How can we produce enough food for everyone while being responsible in how we treat our animals and our land? I don’t know the answer, but I think it’s a question we should all be asking.

This book was the winner of the 2006 California Book Award and the 2007 James Beard Award, so I am adding to my books read for the Book Awards Reading Challenge. Three down, seven to go!

This entry was posted in Audiobooks, Food, Nonfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Omnivore’s Dilemma (Audio)

  1. Rachel Wild says:

    I just finished reading this book last night! I couldn’t believe how little I know about organic, corn, and what the USDA actually does. As I live in London, it isn’t quite as applicable as it would’ve been while I was living in the US, but still really helpful. Now I understand why fertilizer is bad, and why local is good, it makes me willing to spend the extra money on local produce and grass-fed meet. I also think that as more people decide to take responsibility for what they eat, more solutions for bringing it to a bigger market will appear, and prices may even go down a little.

    The most important point for me was that the real cost of cheap food is incalculable, and definitely more than that of more sustainable agriculture.

  2. Pingback: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (Audio) « Shelf Love

  3. Care says:

    Hello, I’m in the middle of the audio right now and just finished the bit about Polyface Farm (love!) and hope that the buying club and the beef ordering is still a viable option for you. I just looked online for local grass-fed beef and am considering.

    • Teresa says:

      The buying club worked well for me, but I’ve cut back even more on the amount of meat I eat, so I’ve not ordered from them for a while, but it is good stuff. My local farmer’s market now offers more meat than it used to, including some from Polyface, so that’s been enough to meet my needs.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

