“What Should I Read in September?” Giveaway

I can’t pass a book sale, a giveaway, or a book swapping site without acquiring one, two, or twenty new books, and I am trying to read through the huge collection of unread books I’ve amassed in recent years. These monthly giveaways help me clear my shelves while giving you a chance to choose your own giveaway prize!

Here’s how to enter: Take a look at my TBR List and make a comment on this post telling me which book on my shelf you think I should read next. At the beginning of September, I’ll choose one suggestion at random, read the book, post a review, and pass the book along to the lucky person who suggested it. The deadline to enter is August 31.

A few caveats:

  1. I usually read at least a book a week, so you probably won’t have to wait long for me to finish and send the book to you, but if you choose something really long, say The Way We Live Now, you’ll have to be patient.
  2. Many books on my list are used, but most are in very good shape. If something looks like it’s on its last read, I’ll let you know so you can make an alternate choice.
  3. I have several book series on my list. If you suggest one of those and win, you’ll get the first book only.
  4. If you happen to be a particularly brilliant recommender and select something that I decide, upon reading, that I simply cannot part with, you’ll get a new copy of your own!

Have fun “shopping” from my list, and good luck!

This entry was posted in Giveaways. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to “What Should I Read in September?” Giveaway

  1. Rebecca says:

    I think you should read ‘Neuromancer’ by William Gibson next.

  2. Holly says:

    I think you should read Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen next. I heard it was great!!

  3. I vote for The Self-Made Man: One Woman’s Journey Into Manhood and Back Again by Norah Vincent. I recently spotted that one in a book store (and somehow resisted buying it), and it looks fascinating!

  4. Great idea for a giveaway, by the way!

  5. Awesome idea for a giveaway. I ought to steal this, it’s so awesome.

  6. Patricia says:

    I wish you would read Classics for Pleasure by Michael Dirda

  7. Joanne says:

    I would love for you to read and review “Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar” I’m really interested to to hear how this book tackles philosophy using humor :)

  8. Popin says:

    From your list, I would suggest Thank You for Smoking by Christopher Buckley. I loved the movie, so I’m assuming the book would be just as good.

    I also suggest checking out The Blonde by Duane Swierczynski. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve heard good things and it looks like a fun read.

    I’ve left a link of this up at my blog. It’s off to the side.

    Thanks

    ~ Popin
    proudbookworm.blogspot.com

  9. Tara says:

    I think you should read A Country Doctor!

  10. Yessenia says:

    wow this is a really neat idea! that is a really long list of tbr books but i think you should read catch-22 i’ve heard a LOT of good things about it and the people that i know that have read it all enjoyed it and though it was hilarious, i happened to be around when someone was reading it and i swear they laughed out loud every so often, it was fun to watch :)

  11. Ann says:

    I think you should read Reading Like A Writer by Francine Prose. A writer friend of mine keeps recommending Prose’s stuff and I’d like to see someone else’s take on it.

    That and I want to see if nominative determinism makes you a good writer … I might need to change my name. :-)

  12. Margay says:

    What a list! My choice: Confessions of an Ugly Step-Sister. I just love the title.

  13. Alessandra says:

    My suggestion is: The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.

  14. Oh gosh, this IS a fun idea. My choice is Persepolis by Mariane Satrapi. It looks wonderful and I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile…I also need to read it before I can see the movie of course, so there’s another reason.

    I’m curious to see what you think. I’ve heard it’s a great novel.

    -Lauren

  15. Alyce says:

    I would pick “Jack and Rochelle: A Holocaust Story of Love and Resistance by Jack and Rochelle Sutin.” I have read a lot of holocaust memoirs, but somehow I managed to miss this one.

  16. Gaskella says:

    Heartburn by Nora Ephron – never seen the film either, but would like to read.

  17. I think you should read Your Call Is Important to Us: The Truth About Bullshit by Laura Penny.

    Very cool give away!!

  18. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen is my suggestion, I have heard nothing but good things about this one.

  19. Carmen T says:

    The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards =)

    read awesome reviews for it.

  20. Rebekah says:

    The Dead Beat: Lost Souls, Lucky Stiffs, and the Perverse Pleasures of Obituaries by Marilyn Johnson

    I think this one sounds funny. It’d be my pick if I were looking at your TBR as my own.

    Happy Reading whatever you decide upon. :)

    Rebekah

  21. Annette says:

    If I had your books to choose from, I’d pick “Little Heathens: Hard Times and High Spirits on an Iowa Farm During the Great Depression.”

    This quote from the book is what hooks me:
    “Childhood was generally considered to be a disease, or, at the very least, a disability: to be ignored for the most part, and remedied as quickly as possible.”

    I’d love to learn more what life was like back then!

  22. katayoun says:

    definitely Connie Willis’ “To Say Nothing of the Dog”!!
    (though being greedy aside, you’ve got a lovely list and any book you choose would be a great choice!)

  23. Carol says:

    I think you should read The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler. It’s a classic and everyone should read it! I know I want to! :)
    mittens0831 AT aol DOT com

  24. Ruby says:

    I heard Water for Elephants is wonderful.

  25. Kehs says:

    Wow! You have some great sounding books to choose from there! I particularly like the sound of Tom Bedlam by George Hagen so I am suggesting that one for you to read next.

  26. Elizabeth M. says:

    I’ve seen Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen at the bookstore and it looked really interesting. I think that’s on your September must read list. Yep, you gotta read that one!

  27. Becca says:

    I think you should read ‘From A to X’ by John Berger, I’ve read the blurb on Amazon and I think it sounds a truly moving and thought provoking book!

  28. esther says:

    I think “On Chesil Beach” is the best book by McEwan I have read, so that’s my recommendation.

    If you have a bit (ahem) more time, you should definitely read the Otherland books, too.

    Great list!

  29. Diana Dang says:

    I choose Slaughterhouse Five. Title sounds interesting…

  30. hermeslyre says:

    Hey, this is cool. Try Neuromancer by William Gibson, if only because I’ve never gotten around to reading it mself!.. And would like too.

  31. Renee says:

    I think I would pick The Mortician’s Daughter. I’m sure this would be interesting.

  32. Rachel says:

    I think you should read Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson. I have only heard good things!

  33. Nicole says:

    I’m for Children of Men by P.D. James. I read that book earlier this year and I am curious about another viewpoint.

  34. Lightheaded says:

    Bill Bryson made me laugh a lot I suggest you read “The Lost Continent” next month.

  35. Anna says:

    I think you should read The Thirteenth Tale. Sounds like an interesting book.

  36. Karen Gervasi says:

    Hotel du lac sounds really good
    K

  37. Janel says:

    My vote is for “What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal” by Zoe Heller.

  38. Violet says:

    I think the following 2 books would be amazing to red. But I found many books on your list worth giving a try.

    1)The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

    2)Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

    Great idea by the way :)

  39. Tasses says:

    I want Plato & A Platypus Walk Into A Bar to give to my son :-) Please enter me in the contest. I have posted about your contest on my blog: Random Wonder

  40. Sandra says:

    You really must try “Be Near Me” by Andrew O’Hagan next. This man writes like a dream.

  41. JGoto says:

    I think you should try Persepolis. I’ve heard good things about it!

  42. Chioma says:

    I recommend The Dangerous Days Of Daniel X. It is a great book.

  43. Sandra says:

    My recommendation is Devotion by Howard Norman. I’ve read The Bird Artist and The Museum Guard by him and enjoyed them both very much.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

