August “What Should I Read Next?” Giveaway

**This giveaway is now closed. Congrats to Shana whose suggestion of The Children of Henry VIII,  was the winner. A new giveaway will be posted in mid-August.

I can’t pass a book sale, a giveaway, or a book swapping site without acquiring one, two, or twenty new books, and I am trying to read through the huge collection of unread books I’ve amassed in recent years. The “What Should I Read Next?” Giveaway is one way of sharing the overabundant bounty of my bookcases with my fellow bibliophiles.

So, here’s how you can join in the fun. Take a look at my TBR List and make a comment on this post telling me which book on my shelf you think I should read next. At the beginning of August, I’ll choose one suggestion at random, read the book, post a review, and pass the book along to the lucky person who suggested it.

A few caveats:

  1. I generally read at least a book a week, so you probably won’t have to wait long for me to finish and send the book to you, but if you choose something really long, say The Way We Live Now, you’ll have to be patient.
  2. Many books on my list are used, but most are in very good shape. If something looks like it’s on its last read, I’ll let you know so you can make an alternate choice.
  3. I have several book series on my list. If you suggest one of those and win, you’ll get the first book only.
  4. If you happen to be a particularly brilliant recommender and select something that I decide, upon reading, that I simply cannot part with, you’ll get a new copy of your own!

Make your suggestion for the August giveaway by July 31. I’ll announce the winner by August 3. Good luck!

This entry was posted in Giveaways. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to August “What Should I Read Next?” Giveaway

  1. Nicole (ikkinlala) says:

    I think you should read “Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World.” It sounds fascinating.

  2. Popin says:

    You have a great list and I had a hard time trying to pick one for you to read next. I picked “The Ethical Assassin” by David Liss at the end though. It looks interesting and a fun read.

    I’ve also pimped this out at my blog. proudbookworm.blogspot.com

    Thanks

    ~ Popin

  3. Popin says:

    Sorry about the double comment, for a new book I think you should check out Out by Natsuo Kirino. It’s one of my favourite books. Other books you might like are I Am Legend by Richard Matheson and A Mighty Collision of Two Worlds by Safi Abdi.

    ~ Popin

  4. bunnyb says:

    I think I’m gonna stick with The Last Single Woman in America by Cindy Guidry.

  5. Carmen T says:

    This has also been a book on my TBR pile: “The History of Love” by Nicole Krauss. I like the idea of it being a novel within a novel. =)

  6. Shana says:

    I vote for The Children of Henry VIII by Alison Weir.

    I’ve never read anything by Alison Weir but she is considered one of the foremost writers on Tudor England, so she must be good!

    And Henry VIII was such an interesting guy – any book about him, his wives, his children, his court is sure to read like fiction.

  7. Elaine says:

    I would definitely start reading the Morland Dynasty by Cynthia Harrod Eagles. Do read them in order and keep checking the very useful family trees at the start of each book. They are extremely well written, historical research is spot on and following the story of the Morland family from 12th right up to the current one set in World War II is totally fascinating. If you read one a month it would take you two years or more to get them all under your belt so don’t delay! I simply love them

  8. Joanne says:

    I think your next read should be “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” by Kim Edwards.
    I’ve heard so much about this novel and would be interested in hearing your thoughts.

  9. Caryn says:

    God’s Secretaries by Adam Nicholson … because it still sounds interesting and I still want to read it and I really want to win at a giveaway darnit!
    :-)

  10. Rebecca says:

    I think you should read ‘The Thirteenth Tale’ by Diane Setterfield.

  11. Sarah says:

    I vote for James Baldwin — Go tell it on the mountain.

  12. Lori Barnes says:

    my suggestion I picked is… Confessions of a Ugly Step Sister, by Gregory Macguire

  13. Lucy D =) says:

    Hi there! This is an awesome giveaway! =D And I love your TBR list! It’s nice and long with a lot of good books. =) I would recommend that you read ‘Water For Elephants’ by Sara Gruen. I also know this is unrelated but I just read these books ’13 Reasons Why’ and ‘Before I Die’ and I thought you might want to check them out as well. (I’m mostly into YA books and these two are really good in my opinion!=D) Thanks so much for the opportunity!

    ~Lucy D =)

  14. Stephanie says:

    My pick: The Dead Beat: Lost Souls, Lucky Stiffs, and the Perverse Pleasures of Obituaries by Marilyn Johnson

    That sounds fun!

  15. Tracy says:

    The Fat Girl’s Guide to Life – just from the title alone:) Tracy

  16. thekoolaidmom says:

    The Children of Men by PD James

    I saw the movie long before I knew it was a book, and the movie was pretty awesome… okay, Clive Owen running around, taking care of a baby… pretty hot movie! But the plot and story-line was also fascinating, and it resonance today, especially.

  17. Alessandra says:

    I’d say The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. Sounds like a good one.

  18. Lin says:

    Jack and Rochelle: A Holocaust Story of Love and Resistance by Jack and Rochelle Sutin

    This books looks SO interesting. It is a survival story and a love story and a part of our history all wrapped up in one. I would love to read it!

  19. Carol says:

    I think you should read The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart. I’ve enjoyed so many of her books!

    mittens0831 AT aol DOT com

  20. Ivan Girl says:

    my pick would be Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister. :) Heard it was good. ;)

  21. Jennifer B says:

    I would read this one:
    God’s Secretaries: The Making of the King James Bible by Adam Nicolson

    But, it’s already been suggested!

    So – I’ll suggest this one too:

    Auralia’s Colors by Jeffrey Overstreet

    I’ve read a lot of books on your list. The Otherland and Fionavar series are awesome BTW!

  22. Anita Yancey says:

    I think you should read The Killing Doll by Ruth Rendell next. She’s a good writer.
    ayancey@dishmail.net

  23. Cindi says:

    Greetings! My vote is for “Middlesex” by Jeffrey Eugenides.
    Thanks and enjoy…..Cindi

  24. Shawnee says:

    This is such a fun way to have a give away! I would suggest Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson. I have been dying to read it myself and I have heard really good reviews about it.

  25. Mappi Mundi says:

    Read Tolkien’s Children of Hurin. It’s a heart-wrenching tragedy only an epic storyteller could relate.

  26. Anna says:

    I vote for Nine Parts of Desire: The Hidden World of Islamic Women by Geraldine Brooks. That sounds really interesting.

  27. Jessica says:

    Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Macguire or The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

    I have wicked, but I have never read it. Persepolis is one of my favorite books, as well as Housekeeping.

  28. Steph says:

    Read – ‘The Lost Continent’ – Bill Bryson
    My dad LOVED it. He read it and became obsessed with Bill Bryson!
    I have a copy already so no need for another, but I thought I’d suggest it to you!
    Good idea to get someone to pick the next book for you, I would never be able to choose. I have a similar gigantic pile of to be read books and I just kind of pick from the top. I considered entering them ALL into my computer and randomizing my choices, but I’m way to lazy for that.
    goodluck with your reading endeavors!

  29. Janel says:

    “What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal” by Zoe Heller is my pick. Thanks for doing this contest!

  30. Amy says:

    I think you should try The Last Single Woman in America by Cindy Guidry or Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire. The Last Single Woman in America seems like light-hearted book and Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister would be a fun read.

  31. catslady says:

    Well I’m picking 100 Cats Who Changed Civilization by Sam Stall just because I love cats :) You’ve got a lot of great books on your list that I have read (especially all the King books)

  32. jaime says:

    I think you should read The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin. I was wowed by Rosemary’s Baby, and I’d love to know how this one is!

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

