A New Year’s Eve Readathon

nyeHappy New Year’s Eve everyone! When Jenn at the Picky Girl first announced her New Year’s Eve Readathon, I didn’t expect to be able to join in for more than a couple of hours. I was going to be working during the day, and New Year’s Eve or not, I can rarely stay up until midnight these days without suffering greatly the next day.

But as it turns out, my office closed for today, and I’ve done the various chores and errands I needed to take care of this weekend, and I have nothing but free time today to read.

My plan for the day is to finish The Fortune of War, the sixth of the Aubrey/Maturin novels by Patrick O’Brian. When/if I finish that, I’ll turn to The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett, which Jenny and I are reading along with Annabel. Following Jenn’s suggestion to keep it laid back, I’m not going to take time to post updates here throughout the day. Instead, I’ll be sharing on Twitter (hashtag #nyereadathon). I’ll take some breaks during the day for blog reading, exercise, and snacking (which will include making a winter squash gallete that I’m super excited to try). But the focus of the day will be reading in the new year. Come join us?

Edited to add: Just finished baking my winter squash galette. It looks and smells yummy, but I’m supposed to let it cool for a bit. The crust started to lose its structural integrity on one side, but it held together.

Galette Fresh from the Oven

The recipe is from Mark Bitmann’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, and it was pretty easy. But the verdict will be in the tasting!

Serving of GaletteAnd the galette, with a dollop of sour cream on the side, was tasty indeed. Just a spaghetti squash, tomato paste, onion, garlic, and red wine cooked on the stove top and then baked in a free-form crust. Yum! I’m guessing the leftovers will be just as good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A New Year’s Eve Readathon

  1. Lisa says:

    That sounds like a lovely way to finish the year!

  2. Danielle says:

    Sounds like fun! I shall read along in spirit as I had hoped to finish a couple of books still this year, forgetting that while I have tomorrow off–it will be 2013 already! I would love to read Dorothy Dunnett—her series of Lymond books–but that would be quite an undertaking I’m not sure I am ready for yet (still need to work on the Morland Saga…). Have a really great day reading–your squash gallete sounds yummy!). Best wishes in 2013 and have Happy New Year!

  3. Have fun! I am working today so will be jealously thinking of those of you spending the day reading!

  4. What a fantastic way to see in the New Year! I wish I had heard about it a month ago and could cancel my plans! I’m such a party-pooper. But I will read some Game of Thrones before and after the party in a mini readathon. :-) hope you enjoy the o’brien and the dunnett – what an amazing historical fiction duo to begin a new year on.

    • Teresa says:

      I haven’t been to a New Year’s Eve party in a few years, and I can’t say that I miss it. I’ve become less and less of a party person with every year that goes by.

  5. I really need to have a personal challenge to read those O’Brian books. A friend of mine has almost all of them (I’ve bought him several in the series) and really enjoys them.

    And oddly enough, I enjoy naval stories. :)

    Happy reading today! So glad you’re joining in.

  6. Vasilly says:

    I’m in! Let us know how the winter squash gallete turns out.

  7. All the best. I’ve seen some book bloggers participating in this.

  8. Kailana says:

    Reading on New Year’s Eve would be a lot of fun. I read part of a short story…

  9. sassymonkey says:

    That is too funny. You are the second person I know who made this recipe over the holidays.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

