Sunday Salon: November Reviews of Note

Hello and happy Sunday! I hope our U.S. readers are enjoying the Thanksgiving holiday and that everyone else is just having a lovely weekend. I’ve had family visiting all weekend and therefore haven’t gotten much time for reading and blogging, but I’m hoping to catch up a bit this afternoon. In the meantime, here are a handful of reviews and other bookish writing that caught my eye over the past month. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Salon: November Reviews of Note

  1. vanbraman says:

    Thanks, I enjoyed my Thanksgiving holiday.

  2. Jeanne says:

    I love the other review of Flight Behavior calling Ovid Byron’s name “another brick-to-the-skull metaphor,” but I don’t agree. Ovid=metamorphosis is pretty general, and there’s none of the sexual grandstanding of the Romantic poet.
    Thanks for including my review! Perhaps I was just in the mood for this particular sermon, and so it didn’t strike me as preachy.

    • Teresa says:

      I enjoy contrasting perspectives about novels I’m uncertain about, and your review and the TNR one give me a pretty good idea of what to expect if I read Flight Behavior. As I think I mentioned on your post, my feelings about Kingsolver’s work is mixed and slightly skews to the negative, but I’m interested in the class angle in this book.

      And the name Ovid Byron seems pretty unsubtle to me, like it has to mean something because it draws such attention to itself. But the name Byron does seem to suggest extreme sexual prowess, so who knows what Kingsolver was getting at. Perhaps she just wanted a poetic-sounding name.

  3. rebeccareid says:

    love your way of sharing recent links you enjoyed! I really enjoyed the first of L’Engle memoir…and I have the other three on my shelf, but I have not read them yet!

    • Teresa says:

      I’m trying to do this once a month or so–with a focus on book reviews, since those get less attention than topical posts. I know how much I love it when people share my posts, so I wanted to spread the love.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

