Sunday Salon: A Little Link Love

I haven’t done a Sunday Salon post for a while, partly because I haven’t had anything in particular to say and partly because other life stuff has taken over and kept me from reading, blogging, and tweeting as much as I normally do. Said life stuff had also left me stressed and frustrated and just kind of down, so it was a complete delight to see these wonderful posts from James at Ready When You Are CB and Ana at Things Mean a Lot. Their kind words couldn’t have come at a better time. And their posts reminded me that I want to keep sharing the good stuff that people are writing about books.

I’ve been using Storify to save and share links to posts that I particularly enjoy. Of course, there’s way more good stuff out there than I have time to read or make note of—especially when that pesky life stuff gets in the way. But the posts below are a few that caught my eye this month. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday Salon: A Little Link Love

  1. cbjames says:

    I’m pleased to know that my little link brightened your day. :-) I hope more people will start doing link-love type posts. They’ve proven to be a very good way for me to find additional blogs/bloggers who cover books I’m interested in. Happy reading.

    • Teresa says:

      Your remarks on our blog were truly a day brightener on a day when I needed it, so thank you!

      I always enjoy people’s linky posts. Even if I don’t come across a new blog through them, sometimes they’ll point me to a post I missed on a blog I already read.

  2. Lisa says:

    Only one of the blogs on these links is familiar to me :) I’m enjoying browsing through the links (and thinking that I do not need to read the Rowling book) – thanks!

  3. Jenny says:

    Aw, thanks for the love! I’ve enjoyed the conversation about Casual Vacancy more than I enjoyed the book itself, I’m afraid — not surprising because I was one of the people who came down solidly opposed to it. It’s really interesting to me to read the thoughts of people who did enjoy it. I wanted to read the reviews almost more than I wanted to read the book itself, but I felt like that would make me kind of an ungenerous reader to a woman who, like, gave me my entire childhood.

    • Teresa says:

      The reviews have been so interesting–and varying, even if people don’t seem to disagree about the nature of the book, their feelings about it vary so much. I enjoyed the HP books, but I don’t have the attachment to them or to Rowling that I might have had if I’d been younger when they came out, so I was waiting to see how people felt about the new book. The storyline was the kind of thing that could totally go either way for me.

  4. I’m enjoying that link to Gaudy Night – one of my favourite books. Thank you! I hope things improve for you very soon, Teresa.

    • Teresa says:

      Wasn’t that a great post? The comments are good too.
      And thanks for the good wishes! There are some signs of improvement on the horizon, but it may take a while. Having a work trip cancelled today took one stress away.

  5. Like you and James, I really hope more people start doing this. The more I realise that there are far more good blogs out there than I could possibly read, the more I value content curation. And thank you so much for the mention!

  6. litlove says:

    Thank you for the lovely link We must have a proper conversation one of these days, as your health issues chime in several ways with mine. I have found over the years that the only way I can deal with my health problems and stay sane is to share them with sympathetic friends. So bless you for being one of those, and here’s to our rapid improvement in the very near future!

  7. Jeanne says:

    This is such a good idea, and I’m one of those who values your links as a way of getting a broader view than I have time to find on my own. Thanks!
    By the way, Sophisticated Dorkiness likes The Casual Vacancy, and has a new post about why. It’s very interesting.

    • Teresa says:

      I saw Kim’s post this morning! It was interesting to see a more positive perspective. I especially liked that she saw the same qualities others have but reacted differently to them.

  8. boardinginmyforties says:

    Thank you for the links you’ve shared here. I love that post by Lit Love and can relate to much of it. I hope you are feeling better now. I’m way behind in my Reader so hope to find that you are in a better place now.

    • Teresa says:

      Thank you! I’m still working with my doctor, but I’m optimistic that we’ve found my problem. Now it’s just a matter of getting started treating it and giving the treatment time to work.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

