The Case of the Late Pig

The main thing to remember in autobiography, I have always thought, is not to let any damned modesty creep in to spoil the story. This adventure is mine, Albert Campion’s, and I am fairly certain that I was pretty nearly brilliant in it in spite of the fact that I so nearly got myself and old Lugg killed that I hear a harp quintet whenever I consider it.

The Case of the Late Pig is the eighth of Margery Allingham’s adventure novels featuring Albert Campion. I say adventure novels, rather than mysteries, because the more of these that I read, the more I’m convinced that these books are not meant to be read as whodunits. Some of the crimes in the books are more solvable than others, but Allingham holds back too much and makes the crimes too tricksy for solving them to be the point. They’re clever suspense stories with an entertaining hero, and this book is no exception. Note that Campion himself, in the opening lines to the novel quoted above, calls this an adventure.

Interestingly, a Guardian article published this week reveals that Agatha Christie thought Allingham is more interested in character than in plot. Although this particular crime does end with something of a bombshell, rather than the flat and inevitable conclusion Christie said characterized many of Allingham’s novels, I quite agree that the characters are the main point of interest here. And they’re interesting in a different way than the characters in, say, Dorothy L. Sayers’s novels. At this point anyway, Campion hasn’t developed the layers that Wimsey is known for. He’s more of a madcap loon with hidden depths that have yet to be plumbed. (I always think of him as The Doctor solving crimes.)

For the first (and I believe last) time in the Campion novels, Campion himself narrates this story. Campion is a delightful character, and it’s fun to get inside his head for a while. However, the fact that Campion narrates the story makes it all the more evident that Allingham holds back on clues and information that readers might use to solve the crime. I think Campion tells us everything he knows, but there’s plenty he suspects that we don’t learn about until after the fact. What’s nice is seeing his genuine distress about endangering Lugg, his manservant with whom he has a comically contentious relationship. And we also see how oblivious he can be to the attentions of the women around him when he’s on a case and how this obliviousness leads to disappointment when the case is over.

So with all this dithering, you’re probably wondering what exactly the story is about. The mystery adventure centers on one of Campion’s school classmates, Pig Peters, a man who seems unable to die and stay dead. First, he dies of natural causes, and Campion attends his funeral. Six months later, Campion is called in to investigate the death of Pig Peters, now going by a different name and just recently killed by a massive stone urn that fell off the top of a building where he was staying. There are anonymous notes, an array of suspects, additional victims, new dangers, obscure bits of knowledge, and all the other trappings of a crime novel. A solid and fun little adventure, told well.

This entry was posted in Classics, Fiction, Mysteries. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Case of the Late Pig

  1. Lisa says:

    I remember this book for the first-person narration, but I’ve forgotten almost everything else. I think I read them too quickly the first time around, because the plots tend to blur together. I suppose Agatha Christie has a point, though I think it’s a case of pot & kettle, since her books are short on characterization. And that’s why i prefer Allingham, and Sayers & Tey – for their people.

    • Teresa says:

      The thing that interested my about Christie’s comment is that I think she’s right, but like you, I don’t consider the interest in character to be a flaw. It’s all a matter of what you’re looking for. If I wanted puzzles, I’d go for Christie because she does those well. I’m just less interested in those.

  2. drharrietd says:

    I’m a great fan of Allingham — my mother introduced me to her books when I was a teenager and I’ve loved her ever since. I’ve read all of them, I think, but this one has faded completely from my memory so thanks for the reminder — I must get hold of it soon.

  3. Massive stone urns falling on people really are a marker of that era! Isn’t there one in Christie’s Murder is Easy? (Enjoyed our conversation on twitter about Campion: I will read another one just to make sure I don’t like him!)

    • Teresa says:

      I don’t remember the one from Christie, but it wouldn’t surprise me at all! If you’re looking to try Campion again, I’d recommend Sweet Danger (aka Kingdom of Death or The Fear Sign) over this one. It’s my favorite so far.

  4. FleurFisher says:

    It’s a long time since I read the book and the details are gone, but I do remember I picked it up because I loved the BBC dramatisation. Allingham is one of those authors I keep meaning to reread in order, and one day I really will.

    • Teresa says:

      I’d really like to watch the BBC films. I saw a bit of Mystery Mile when it was available on Netflix, but I didn’t finish, and it’s not there anymore. Peter Davison seems like he could be a great Campion.

  5. helen says:

    I vaguely remember reading this a long time ago. Like FleurFisher I keep meaning to reread Allingham. Is it heresy to say that I prefer him to Lord Peter Wimsey, whom I find rather irritating? I too agree with Christie’s point, and I am glad for a world in which both the puzzle novels and the character novels exist.

    • Teresa says:

      Not heresy, just different tastes! I like Wimsey better, but Campion continues to grow on me. They’re enough alike that I can make room for both. I’m glad for a world in which they both exist!

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

