Two Years Ago Today…

Edited to Add: The giveaway is now closed. Winners are listed below. Thanks to all for your kind wishes!

It was two years ago today that I accepted Jenny’s invitation to post my first review (of The Abstinence Teacher) here at Shelf Love. I had no idea at the time what a wonderful adventure book blogging would be.

In celebration, I thought today would be a good day to have another giveaway to clear off my overflowing bookshelves. As I’m sure I’ve mentioned in this space many times, I have limited space in my home, so I rarely keep books I don’t anticipate reading again, even if they are books I enjoyed very much. And today I have some fine books to share. In fact, some of these are so good that I held onto them for a while because I thought I might want to reread them, but I’ve decided that my desire for bookshelf space is greater than the likelihood of my rereading these books.

So, without further ado, here are the books I have up for grabs:

  • The Hot Zone by Richard Preston. Hardcover in very good condition. (Won by Carin)
  • Small Island by Andrea Levy. Trade paperback in very good condition. (Won by Diana)
  • Heartburn by Nora Ephron. Older mass market paperback with creases in spine and a little yellowing. (Won by Marie)
  • The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell. Paperback advance reader’s edition in very good condition. (Won by Melissa)
  • White Teeth by Zadie Smith. Paperback in good shape except for some water damage that affects the last fourth of the book. (Won by Marieke)
  • A Civil Contract by Georgette Heyer. Mass market paperback Harper Monogram Regency edition with creased spine. Slightly musty odor. (Won by Ang)
  • The Cherry Orchard by Anton Chekhov (Tom Stoppard’s version). Paperback in very good condition, except for smudges on cover. (Won by Lisa G.)
  • Wrong: Why Experts Fail Us and How to Know When Not to Trust Them by David Freedman. Paperback advance reading copy. (Won by Sean)

So how can you get one of these books? Just leave a comment here by tomorrow (July 8) at 10 pm EST indicating which book you’d like. Now there is a catch. You can choose one and only one book, so you’ll have to prioritize and strategize a bit. I’ll use random.org to select the winners.

Good luck to all, and thanks so much for reading!

This entry was posted in Giveaways. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Two Years Ago Today…

  1. Sasha says:

    Ooh, happy anniversary! You’ve made my book blogging adventures more fun too. :)

    I’m putting my name in the hat for David Mitchell. Thanks!

  2. Lisa Garner says:

    Oooooo I would love a copy of The Cherry Orchard!!! :)

  3. bookssnob says:

    Happy anniversary Teresa! I love reading your posts and I’m so glad you accepted the invitation to post here!

    Don’t enter me for the draw, I have enough books as it is!

  4. Happy anniversary, Teresa! I’m so glad you’re a book blogger too. :)

  5. Marie Patterson says:

    I love Nora Ephron, and would love to read Heartburn, put me in for that one please.

    Happy Anniversary!!! :)

  6. Kinna says:

    Happy Anniversary! Would love to read Small Island.

  7. I don’t need any books (!) but I do want to say Happy Anni/Blogi-versary! Hurray for Jenny for issuing that invitation! :–)

  8. RHONDA says:

    Happy Anniversary,Love your blog.Can`t wait to read The Thousand summers of Jacob De Zoet.

  9. Aarti says:

    Congratulations, Teresa! No need to enter me in the contest :-)

  10. Sean says:

    I would really like to read “Wrong”

    Happy Aniversary!! Keep on reviewin’

  11. Tricia says:

    Happy Anniversary! I would love to read Thousand summers of Jacob De Zoet – please enter me for that one.

  12. Marieke says:

    Congrats and happy 2nd anniversary! Clearing out the bookshelves is always a worthy cause. Put me in for White Teeth, please. Thank you!

  13. teadevotee says:

    Happy blogiversary! I’d love to register for the David Mitchell, Thousand Autumns.

  14. Frances says:

    Happy anniversary, Teresa! And many thanks to Jenny as well. You both start many wonderful conversations! Would love a chance to read the Mitchell.

  15. Miss Marjie says:

    Hooray! Happy two years of reviewing! :)

    I’m interested in The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell.

  16. Karen Lucas says:

    I would love to win Heartburn since I’ve never read it and love Nora Ephron. I love to read and love your blog too.

  17. diana mack says:

    small island would be my first have heard so much about it
    second would be white teeth for same reason
    thanks for the opportunity and for a fun blog to follow!

  18. Iris says:

    Happy anniversary Teresa!

    And I know it’s not strategic at all, but I’d like to have a chance to win the David Mitchell.

  19. selena says:

    Happy bloggaversary, Teresa! It’s been a joy reading your post over the last year and I look forward to even more of them!

    Throw my name in the hat for The Cherry Orchard by Anton Chekhov. (I hope you know it took like five whole minutes of self-debating before I could choose the one I wanted!)

  20. Kristen M. says:

    Happy anniversary! My two year is tomorrow so we’re almost blog twins. ;) It’s amazing how many benefits there are to book blogging.

    I will put my name in for Small Island. I feel okay trying for a new book when I’m giving some away tomorrow!

  21. Carin says:

    Happy blog birthday! Congratulations! I hope you eat lots of cake. Meanwhile, though I almost never participate in giveaways (what with overflowing bookshelves and all), I loved your review of The Hot Zone, and it’s a book I’ve been thinking of getting and reading for many, many years. So I’d like to throw my hat in the ring for that one if I may.
    Thanks!

  22. Allie says:

    Congrats!

    I would love to put my name in the ring for the Heyer!

  23. Jenny says:

    Happy anniversary! I went back and forth for a while about whether to put my name in for Small Island or The Hot Zone – but since it’s miserably hot where I am, and I am already slightly paranoid about germs, I’d better go for Small Island. :)

  24. Bailey says:

    Happy anniversary! I’d like to try the David Mitchell.

  25. Vasilly says:

    Happy anniversary! I would love to try the new David Mitchell.

  26. kiss a cloud says:

    Happy anniversary!! Looking forward to reading your blog for many more years to come..

  27. Ang says:

    I would love a Civil Contract by Georgette Heyer! Thanks so much!

  28. Stefanie says:

    Happy anniversary! And thanks for hosting a giveaway. Would love to throw my name in the hat for the David Mitchell. Zadie Smith would be my second choice (if second choices are allowed :) )

  29. Melissa says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I’d love to get my hands on “The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.” I’m a David Mitchell and have been wanting to read this latest book.

  30. sagustocox says:

    Congrats on 2 years…no need to enter me.

  31. Cristina says:

    Congrats! :)
    I would like to enter for The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell.
    Regards

  32. chasing bawa says:

    Congratulations! Love your blog!

  33. winstonsdad says:

    well done on 2 years and hope you have many more ,all the best stu

  34. rebeccareid says:

    Happy blogiversary! I love your blog and I hope there are many more years of your posts!

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

