A Blogiversary Giveaway!

Books

EDITED TO ADD: Congrats to JaneGS, winner of the giveaway!

Last April, Jenny made her first post to Shelf Love. When I discovered that she was blogging, I mentioned that I’d been contemplating starting a blog myself and she was gracious enough to invite me to join in. So, one year ago today, I posted my first review, The Abstinence Teacher by Tom Perrotta.

Even though I’ve always been an avid reader, blogging has motivated me to read more, and it’s helped me to think more deeply about what I read. But the best thing about the blogging experience has been the opportunity to share the love of book with other. It’s been especially great fun to blog with a friend–and to make so many new friends this year. I’ve discovered so many new authors to try and been excited to point others toward authors and books that I love.

So to celebrate, I’d like to share a book with a Shelf Love reader by giving away a new copy of one of the books I’ve read and reviewed. For your chance to win, follow this link to my book list where you can find links to all my reviews. Leave a comment on this post letting me know which book from that list you’d like,* and I’ll randomly select a winner on Sunday, July 12. Worldwide entries are accepted.

Thanks so much to all our readers for making this a great year, and good luck!

*You can choose a print or audio book, but I’ll be sending you the print version. I believe all of the books I’ve reviewed are available for purchase at a reasonable cost, but if the winner happens to choose a book that turns out to be out of print and/or only available at an exorbitant cost (more than $25 or so), I may ask the winner to choose a substitute book.
This entry was posted in Giveaways. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Blogiversary Giveaway!

  1. Haley Hanzon says:

    I’d like to try “French Women Don’t Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure”

  2. amber says:

    Would love Of Human Bondage…I have always wanted to read this book. It’s one of the few on my list I have yet to pick up. Thanks so much fr the lovely giveaway.

  3. Congrats on your blogiversary! Please put me down for The Complete Persepolis. I just finished reading The Impostor’s Daughter, my first graphic memoir, so I’m eager to try another. Thanks!

  4. Brittany says:

    Congratulations and happy blogiversary! I would love Gilead – it has been on my list for awhile, and your review of it really makes me want to bump it to the top.

  5. Angela says:

    Thanks so much for this giveaway. I would love to try Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald. She has always intrigued me.

  6. JaneGS says:

    Congratulations on the anniversary of your blog. Like you, blogging has inspired me to read more, and in my case, read more thoughtfully.

    I’m going with Cakes and Ales, by Somerset Maugham.

  7. claire says:

    Happy blogiversary! The best thing about your reviews is the thoughtfulness you put into them.

    I’d love to win Blindness, please. I bought a copy of its sequel, Seeing, in advance. I just need Blindness first. :D

  8. Renee G says:

    Congratulations on your blogiversary! I would love to read the Stepford Wives. Somehow I’ve never read this yet.

    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(dot)com

  9. Kathleen says:

    I would love to read Lipstick Jihad!

  10. KimN says:

    Such a great idea – and I have really enjoyed hearing about new books through your reviews. I would love to read Thank You For Smoking or The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox. Tx!

  11. Jenny says:

    I’m not in for the giveaway, but are those really your books in the photo? They all look like things you like!

  12. Jenny says:

    Oh and I totally meant to say I am so glad you blog with me! I never would have made it a year without you and I am so thrilled every time you post a review — engaging, thoughtful, snarky, funny, smart. Thank you for joining Shelf Love!

  13. bunny says:

    Happy Blogiversary!!! I would love to read Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Thanks!

  14. Eva says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I’d love to read The Heart of the Matter. :)

  15. rebeccareid says:

    You’ve read so many great books, it’s really hard to choose! I’d have to say Blindness is the most intriguing though! Thanks for the giveaway.

    rebecca[at]rebeccareid[dot]com

  16. austenfan says:

    Congrats on your Blogiversary!

    I would love to read the Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire! It sounds great! :)

    issa(dot)mojica(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Dorothy W. says:

    Happy blogiversary! I’m glad you began blogging a year ago! I’d pick one of the Ruth Rendell books, perhaps Adam and Eve and Pinch Me. What an odd title!

  18. hope says:

    Congrats on your blogiversary!! I’d love to win Fables (Books 1-11) by Bill Willingham. Thank you so much!

  19. Happy blogiversary! What a great idea for a giveaway. I would love to be entered to win “The Unit” by Ninni Holmqvist.

    I’m also in the midst of a blogiversary giveaway as well, which I should have a new quote challenge up later this evening…the last one of the challenge.

    I can’t wait to see who has won!

  20. Shannon says:

    Happy Blogiversary!! You’ve read so many interesting books, it was hard to choose, but I’m going with After Dark by Haruki Murakami. =)

  21. Kristen M. says:

    Michael Dirda’s Classics For Pleasure, please. Happy blogiversary to you! It’s ours tomorrow and it’s strangely exciting.

  22. Jamie says:

    Thank You for Smoking by Christopher Buckley — I loved the movie, but have never been able to get the book!

  23. adevotedreader says:

    Congratulations on a year of blogging Teresa!

    I’d like Blindness, as I’ve been meaning to read Saramago.

  24. Nymeth says:

    Happy blogiversary, Teresa, and here’s to many more years! I just love your posts. If I won, I’d pick Classics for Pleasure – I loved Book by Book and have been meaning to read more by Michael Dirda.

  25. nfmgirl says:

    I’d love Persuassion by Jane Austen, which I’ve never read. Thank you!

    nfmgirl AT gmail DOT com

  26. etirv says:

    My choice would be The Woman at the Washington Zoo by Marjorie Williams, thank you!

  27. Claire says:

    I’ve only just discovered your blog via Twitter. Happy anniversary!
    I would love to read Cakes and Ale by Somerset Maugham.

  28. elizabeth says:

    i know you did not think that the Psychic Book of Deliverance was anything stellar but its one of the books I still feel I have to try and would love to compare it to your thoughts . Congrats on your blogginess

  29. Cecilia H. says:

    If I win, I would really like to read “The Strain” by Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan. I appreciate your willingness to share your books!

    And…Happy Blogiversary!!!

  30. lisaread says:

    I would most love to read Blindness by Jose Saramago

Comments are closed.