The Day of the Triffids

triffidsIf you’ve seen 28 Days Later or read Jose Saramago’s Blindness or Stephen King’s The Stand, you’ll no doubt see something familiar in John Wyndham’s 1951 novel The Day of the Triffids.

The novel begins with a man waking up in a London hospital and discovering that there are no longer any doctors and nurses around. The man, William Masen, soon discovers that everyone around has suddenly become blind. For some reason, he and a few others are immune to this worldwide onset of blindness. As the days pass, different groups of sighted and blind people form to build a new society that will allow humanity to continue. In the meantime, the strange deadly plants called triffids detach themselves from their roots and go on the attack.

Before I read this book, all I knew about it was that it involved killer plants. In actuality, the plants are merely a complication; the sudden-onset blindness is the more serious problem. There are some suggestions that the triffids are somehow behind the blindness, but these suggestions are not explored in much detail. Survival of the human race is the paramount issue for the people of this book; why they are in this situation is beside the point.

Because survival of the human race is at stake, the people in the novel find that they must rethink all of their assumptions about right and wrong and how society should be structured. If, for example, women vastly outnumber men, and humanity is dying out, does monogamy continue to make sense? If an entire segment of society needs such extensive care that others have no time to pursue any activities other than caring for those in need, does it make sense to continue to provide that care? And in such a situation, who really has—or should have—the power to make decisions for the good of all?

Wyndham’s novel has all the strengths of the best science fiction. It raises difficult questions without giving obvious answers. It provides moments of terror and glimmers of hope. It forces readers to question their most basic assumptions about what it means to be human and what it means to be good. It deserves a place among the sci-fi classics.

Triffids is not, however, a perfect book; it has many of the flaws typical of science fiction. The central characters are likable enough, but they rarely rise above being types. Throughout the book, William Masen, the main character, moves from place to place, witnessing many different groups who have established their own ways of coping with the crisis. In most cases, he leaves quickly, sometimes just as things are getting interesting. I sometimes found this frustrating, but I think it’s a limitation inherent in the use of first-person narrative. Either Masen sees lots of different groups of people for a short time each or he only encounters a few, leaving certain interesting ideas out of the narrative completely.

Overall, I liked this book quite a lot and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys science fiction or dystopian fiction. I’m looking forward to reading more Wyndham in the future. My next choice will probably be The Midwich Cuckoos, which was adapted into the seriously spooky film The Village of the Damned, but I’ve also heard good things about The Crysalids. Any Wyndham fans out there with other recommendations?

This entry was posted in Classics, Fiction, Speculative Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Day of the Triffids

  1. Jenny says:

    I’ve read all three of the books you mention here, and liked them all very much. I am also fond of John Christopher’s Tripod trilogy (The White Mountains, The Pool of Fire, The City of Gold and Lead) which have a somewhat-similar dystopian feel and a British atmosphere.

  2. CB James says:

    I recently read The Crysalids and enjoyed it much more than I expected to. It does have some of the issues you mention with Triffids, but still manages to tell a very good story and to say something about the world we live in.

  3. Claire says:

    I have only read The Midwich Cuckoos so far but I recommend it; it is exceptionally creepy and thought-provoking.

  4. Melanie says:

    The Chrysalids is my favourite Wyndham, but Midwich Cuckoos is also good… with either one you’ll have an enjoyable time reading, I hope.

  5. Teresa says:

    Jenny: Ooh, I haven’t heard of John Christopher. I’ll have to look him up.

    CB James: I think shallow characterization is too often par for the course with this kind of fiction. However, I find that the other rewards more than make up for it, as they did in Triffids.

    Claire: Glad to hear that Midwich is worth reading (I loved the movie version). I did snag a copy from Bookmooch, but it reeks of cigarette smoke and I may have to hold out for another copy, but I look forward to reading it whenever I do get around to it.

    Melanie: I just looked up the Chysalids, and the premise is very intriguing. I’m adding it to my Bookmooch list now.

Leave your comment here, and feel free to respond to others' comments. We enjoy a lively conversation!

